GladiWednesday

1.  I’m glad this morning that I remembered to take my vitamins.  I haven’t taken them in years don’t always consistently remember to take them as evidenced by the fact that I had to dig through three layers of Mr. CPQ’s vitamins before I found mine at the back of the cabinet shelf.

I hope that the 2007 expiration date doesn’t negate their efficacy.

2.  In case I am harmed by #1, I’m glad the hospital is just down the street.

3.  I’m glad we managed to make it through a library visit without having my name announced over the PA system.

4.  I’m glad for my mom who talked me off a ledge yesterday and told me that I can’t be responsible for fixing everything in the world and to just LET IT GO.

5.  I’m glad that I’ve learned to abandon unfinished craft projects and not feel guilty about it.

6.  I’m glad that I’ve stuck to my quasi-vegetarian diet for a week.  I don’t know if I’ve dropped any weight because I refuse to step on the scales for a month, but I feel pretty skippy about making healthier choices.

7.  I’m glad Reece’s Peanut Butter Eggs are vegetarian.

Ahem.

8.  I’m glad I’ve crossed two books off my “Books Whimzie Told Me To Read” list.  I cried all the way to my mother-in-law’s house reading Same Kind of Different As Me, but smiled as I finished The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I still have quite a few left on the list, but I told her my goal this year was to read at least four of the ones she’s recommended to me.

I think the next one is The Help, but I’m #852 on the waiting list at the library for that one, so it may be a while.  In the meantime, I’ve got four knitting books and six vegetarian cookbooks to pay fines on peruse until my name comes up.

9.  I’m glad the iPad is out and other people have already bought it and posted reviews.  I hear there is a WiFi problem, so I think I’ll wait to buy mine once that’s fixed (and when the prices drop).

10.  I’m glad for outside (paid) work to keep a different part of my brain engaged.  I’m also glad that I work as-needed and that things aren’t as busy right now  as they were in the last two weeks.  The laundry and the paper piles have grown by leaps and bounds and I’ve got time to tackle them with a vengeance today.

You know, as soon as I get off the computer, call my mom, fix breakfast, dust off the cat, have the third cup of coffee….

Have a nice day.

P.S.  Are you glad about something?  Play along with Gretchen, and tell the rest of us about it.

19 responses to “GladiWednesday

  1. #4-my mom has talked me off a ledge or two : ) I’m glad for my mom : )

    I liked the Guernsey…book too. Loved The Help…its worth the wait.

    I’m glad the sun is shining and my cherry trees are just beginning to open up. Enjoy your day!

  2. And obviously I like happy faces too…

  3. Hi CPQ,
    I’m an anonymous stalker (a good friend of Candace Chaney’s) and I love your blog! 🙂

    Anyway…. wanted to introduce myself and to let you know that you MUST read “The Help.” I’m a big reader & it’s one of the most thought-provoking and engaging books I’ve read in a while. Thanks for the laughs and for keeping the ups and downs of motherhood real!

  4. I am the worst at taking pills. It’s amazing I don’t have 14 children because that was another pill I was not so good at taking!

    The Help is one of the best books I’ve ever read. You can actually pick it up at Target for $8.72 if you get desperate. It would probably cost me that much to send you my copy!

    I’m glad for rain today as I planted pansies yesterday in anticipation of the rain. I’m also glad because then I don’t have to walk this rebellious puppy who refuses to let me be the leader. Tough love. Tough training. AND I’m glad I did my grocery shopping yesterday so I don’t have to do it today in the rain.

    I’m glad the kids are back in school. smile. I’m glad that my house is getting back in order.

    FINALLY, I’m glad that I live in America and have a nice hot shower I can jump into! Right now! Adios!

  5. I am happy that my kids are waking up in a super good mood this week and have made their beds and gotten dressed every day without any reminders. 🙂 (I need to ask where they have hidden my real boys)

    I am thankful that I am employed and my company is doing well even though we are in an industry that is really struggling.

    I am happy that my niece started walking this week. (And I know that her mommy is going to have lots of fun and new experiences to share!)

    I am happy that we have sunshine and that basketball season is almost over and I will get my Saturdays back soon. 🙂

  6. Just get The Help on your phone.
    Because then you can be like me.

    Another thing to be glad about, I’m sure. 😉

  7. I’m glad you’re glad! And I’m glad you took your vitamins. And I’m very glad your mama talked you down. Maybe you should have a steak …

  8. Our library doesn’t have a PA system, so it’s very easy to hide myself in the back corner and hope my girls are just quietly looking for their own books!

  9. I’m glad that I’m going to take a nap and then I’m going to have coffee and cheesecake with friends. And Amb is right…get The Help on your iphone. Kindle app is my new bff.

  10. #3 makes me laugh. i’m still working on #4.
    I LOVED The Guernsey book. Best book I’ve read in a while. And might be except for book club since baseball season has started and my jewelry business has taken off. I’m so glad about those two things. In fact, must go make jewelry.

  11. I’m glad you’re my friend. I’m glad I’m on vacation – spent 2 hours wandering around the garden center and library this morning. I’m glad they make books on CD – picked up the Pink Carnation book.

  12. I’m glad I read the Pink Carnation book that you told me to read. It was fun.

    I’m glad you read the books I told you to read. I like it when people do what I tell them to do. DID YOU HEAR THAT, KIDS?!?

  13. I’m glad I have a rule not to be the first to buy new technology and new automobiles. I want others to work through the kinks first.

    I am glad I am about to finish a book I have only had to re-new online twice.

    I am glad I have a comfortable bed in which to lay my head.

    Goodnight!

  14. I need therapy for #5. Help me please!

    Does Mr. CPQ know about/approve of #6?

    I was number 839 on the waiting list for the Help, which made me feel really cool. You know, the whole NY Bestseller list and all. When I finished the book I felt let down by the 838 people before me. They should have told me it wasn’t worth all the hype. Entertaining, but not 2-months-on-the-waiting-list-good.

  15. Lurve that you played today! 🙂

    Your Reeses Vegetarian Diet sounds like a best seller to me.

    Just buy The Help. Seriously. And gift it.

    And don’t you just want to grow up to be Deborah from SKoDaM? Or Denver?

  16. What is the pink carnation book? I looked on Amazon and couldn’t find it. I did find one book but it was about murders and such. Didn’t sound too fun. My husband is getting the ipad today. His firm thought he should have one. He told his boss he didn’t think he could convince me that he needed to shell out the money for one. So his boss said “we’ll solve that.” I wonder how his boss would feel about my wanting a cleaning service!!! John said the wifi issues were most likely how your wifi is set up, but I will pass along any user friendly ideas he shares with me.

  17. I’m glad you not only told me, but you SHOWED me how to make summer rolls.

    The Help is worth waiting for! And vegetarian? Really? I’m trying a new recipe for Chipotle-like burritos tonight because I’m craving red meat. I’m afraid I don’t have the willpower to be a vegetarian.

  18. Oooh! Oooh! again! (I know I sound a bit like a monkey – but I’m all excited-ey, ok!) So, when you did the summer/spring rolls demo, part of the reason I wanted to try it is because I have a recipe from a vegetarian mag that shows those rolls made with – wait for it – plums, basil leaves and avocado. Now either that sounds putridly nasty to you – or excitingly interesting. Let me know which, and I will either send you the recipe, or sit down and shut up!

    Also, in vegetarian cooking news, we went to this completely delishious vegan restaurant nearby called Native Foods. The chef has some cookbooks out, and I just scored some Amazon.com gift dollars, so I plan to buy one. Again, let me know if you are interested in getting some of the recipes, cause I will share. =-)

  19. #5 I am BEYOND help! If I die tomorrow, NEM will have to just get a shovel… not to bury me but to dig out all the “stuff” that I’ve started but not finished. It’s been my way of life for way too many years to change now…

Leave a Reply

