Insert Random Title Here

I’m glad to see that everyone in my little family woke up this morning.  I had my doubts since our dinner last night may or may not have included an ingredient that may or may not have been a little past its expiration date.

And when I say “a little”, it may or may not mean the can had sat for a month on the refrigerator shelf .

Open.

There go my chances at one day having my own program on Food Network.

Or having any of you ever accept a dinner invitation to my house.

Speaking of houses, we’re outgrowing ours.  We’re thinking of moving and getting into a place that has a little more breathing room and keeps me from tripping over the sprawling giants that lay in the living room floor and play Nintendo as I try to step over their ever lengthening legs to get into the kitchen. We’ve got an appointment next week to look at some houses on the market, and while I’m excited about the possibility of a bigger pantry and more cabinet space, the thought of cleaning out my current cabinets to get the house show ready about sends me into orbit.

If any of you know of someone who is looking for a 3 bedroom, two and a half bath, two garage, one story ranch on a 1 acre level lot in a wonderfully quiet neighborhood, let me know because I’d love to avoid the whole Central Showing Stash and Dash thing.

Speaking of things that send me into orbit, I was over the moon about my lunch yesterday to which I treated myself after that little unpleasantness at the lady doctor (stay with me, ImNotNed).  I went to Aladdin’s for a falaffel sandwich and it had pickled turnips in it and you would think, “Eeewww” but have I ever steered you wrong in the food department?

I think not.

They were crunchy and tangy and pickle-y and a perfect pairing with the fried falaffel and I can see them becoming a hard habit to break.

You’re welcome for having Chicago looping in your brain for the rest of the day.

I’d like to make my own sandwiches at home, but I”m not sure where I can find pickled turnips, so I’m going to get out today to see if I can find a Middle Eastern market in town and won’t that be a fun blog post?

Have a nice day.

22 responses to “Insert Random Title Here

  1. I think you need to move about 20 miles south. there are some fantastic, ranch style homes, in a neighborhood where a certain blogger would be much closer for coffee and fresh bread meetings.

    I’m just sayin’.

  2. Moving…I feel your pain.

    Personally I think pickled turnips on a falaffel sound good. I’m going to see if I can find any here. Thanks for the tip.

  3. Really, Sus? Really? Pickled turnips? Gag.

  4. Hey – the house next door to me just went up for sale, and you’d have plenty of space in the 5 bedrooms! Also, I will let you borrow my new zebra heels if you move in. So if THAT doesn’t getcha, I don’t know what else could.

  5. For the love of all humanity I hope you don’t find pickled turnips, and if you do find pickled turnips I hope for the love of all humanity you DON’T post the recipe because as I don’t think Rich could handle another run around town to find this ingredient. What are you trying to do to me???

  6. I actually think that sandwich sounds YUM!
    I gave you an award on my blog today! 🙂

  7. I’ve visited a middle eastern market over in Cary. I know…you need a passport and a visa to get there, but it’s worth it.
    They have the yummy spices I grew accustomed to and Turkish delight. Which is not as good as Edmond makes it out to be in TLTWATW.

  8. I understand the ‘growing out of your 3 bedroom house’ blues.

    there are LOTS of great choices in California

    *ooooh, my subtlety is so slick today*

  9. Move back to Virginia!

    Now, be honest, if you KNEW your falaffel sandwich had pickled turnips on it, would you have ordered it anyway? Me thinks not, but maybe that just me.

    Move back to Virginia!

  10. Ooooh – try Neomonde!! If they don’t have it, they will know where to get it!

  11. I’m going to put this as delicately as I can- moving sucks pickled turnips!

  12. This time I made it all the way to “pickled turnips.”

    And great, now that Momologuer has narrowed down the location of the ImNotNed Batcave to within 42,774.2 square miles, we have to move too.

  13. i happen to know a FABULOUS agent who would be happy to help you find one that suits you (or sell the one that doesn’t, or both!). 😉

  14. I happen to know of a wonderful 4000 square foot 5 bedroom 4 bath home in a great neighborhood that is a steal!!! 🙂 There are even neighbors who have triplet boys around your boys ages…Oooooo tempting huh!!!

  15. Please write about the search for the middle eastern market. And believe it or not, you are the second person in 2 days to tell me that pickled turnips are good! 🙂

  16. I never knew Raleigh was the epicenter of multicultural experiences. Or maybe you’re just a magnet for such adventures. I’m sure hilarity will ensue.

  17. Pickled turnips on a sandwich??? In the eloquent words of my children…”YUCK”. Sorry, CPQ, but that sounds rather gruesome. However, that being said, I’ m evah so glad you enjoyed it!!!

    How *was* your visit with Ladies Dr.?

    Sending you massive good luck finding a new house energy and love. (That sounds pretty hippy-ish)

  18. Pickled turnips? Really? At least that’s not quite as nasty as the duck egg with the duckling in it.

    I’m intrigued that you have access to something as exotic as a Middle Eastern market. The most exciting thing we have around here is the Hispanic section on Aisle 8 at the Walmart Supercenter. And that’s not even authentic. It’s mostly Taco Bell and Pace products.

  19. Just think of all the new blog fodder that will come from putting a house on the market, keeping it “show” clean, etc….

    We could use a 3 bd 2 bth house on on acre…could you move it to Oregon?

  20. I live in a Middle Eastern market, let me know what you want me to bring you this summer! 🙂 (I could live on the hot hummus here.) Thx for the note, I am doing ok. Love my man, love my kids, um…love, sort of, being here, but ready for a summer in the USA. Would love to see you and meet your boys, maybe one day.

  21. There’s a house for sale in my ‘hood.

    Hang in there. I remember getting our house ready to sell in CO. D was 4 and J was 2–tantrum-style 2.

    Does your mom have any valium left?

  22. Pingback: Arabs, Russians, and a Hookah Bar « Carpool Queen's Blog

Leave a Reply

