Domestic Bliss

I’m at Panera typing on my iPhone waiting for my Yarn Whisperer to show up and help me get over a particularly vexing set of instructions for a current project I’m working on. I bet she’s all kinds of wishing she’d never taught me how to knit in the first place. On the bright side, I’m buying coffee, so maybe that’ll soften the blow of having to deal with my incompetence.

Picking up my knitting needles today is a reward for having done six loads of laundry and vacuuming out my onion drawer yesterday.

Those are words I never thought I’d type.

I keep garlic, shallots, and onions in one of my cabinet drawers and over time the skins fall off and before you know it, I’m digging through two inches of dried peely paper just looking for a clove of garlic for my supper.

I hauled out the vacuum cleaner to suck everything up and ended up spending twenty minutes unclogging the hose with the pointy end of a shish kebab skewer because apparently there were rogue cloves hiding in the paper skins and they got stuck halfway down the tube.

I’m sure there’s a moral to this story, but Amy is pulling up in the parking lot and I’ve got to go.

I hope your day holds more excitement than vacuuming your drawers.

Have a nice day.

18 responses to “Domestic Bliss

  1. I’m wondering if you’ll have the sweet smell of garlic when you vacuum next…hmmm. I’m glad the whole onion skin is something that is not unique to me. Thanks for sharing. And I think you work well (witty comments) under pressure. My drawers may need some vacuuming. If I had a blog, you would know why! hahaha!

  2. haha at least you’re organized enough to 1-actually have a drawer for that stuff and 2-vacuum it out occasionally.

    and I wonder, along with Adrienne, if you’ll smell garlic next time you vacuum. Because my vacuum cleaner still offers whiffs of Christmas tree every once in a while. Probably because it hasn’t been used that much since then, but still.

  3. I’m so glad you explained.

    I read that second paragraph over twice before I moved on. I was trying to decipher if “onion drawer” was really a code for something else.

    Happy knitting!

  4. Now I’m from Texas where the word ‘drawers’ can have more than one meaning, so please excuse my childish laughter each time one of you starts talking about vacumming your drawers.

  5. Seriously? You typed ALL THAT on your iPhone? OMGosh! I can’t even text “Where are you?” to my son on my husband’s iPhone.

    You go girl!!! You are talented!!

    I’m a Blackberry addict, myself… go ahead and scoff. I just can’t iPhone type. . . 😦

  6. It’s all fun and games until someone has to vaccuum their drawers.

  7. I’m glad I’m not the only one who snickered at the word “drawers.”

  8. Vacuuming your drawers…now that’s good stuff right there!

  9. I, too, am laughing about the drawers. Love the idea of an onion drawer, since I stick mine in a big bowl on the pantry shelf.

    I’d like to teach the world to knit. . .

  10. Just thinking the other day that my make-up drawer could use a little vacuuming. It gets all dusty from the make-up. I have just been worried that I would accidentally suck up my favorite blush brush or tweezers.

    Happy knitting!

  11. And I hope your house doesn’t smell like garlic the next time you vacuum.

  12. Pretty sure every woman who reads about you vacuuming out the onion drawer can relate.

    I’m going to write about my field trip tomorrow but I must tell you that I saw the chef who is responsible for bringing Creme Brulee to America. He’s German. I knew you would appreciate that little tidbit from today.

  13. I must not be channeling a 13 year old boy today because I totally got the onion drawer thing before you explained.

    Do you use an app for blogging on your iPhone?

  14. I’m gonna have to start calling my Aunt Gail the “Yarn Whisperer”…too ding dang funny.

    I want to know what you’re working on!!! I finally finished several things..my first official dishcloth, my scarf (with fringe!), a headband for JuJu….I just love it.

    We need a visit to hang out and knit the needles!!

  15. Ironing your drawers sounds just as nutty as ironing them. 😉

  16. hmmm, moral to the story…

    maybe you could work with layers of onion peels (getting down to the deeper layers of you) and can vacuuming them away be getting free from the dead flesh?

    OR you could go with something about exfoliating and revealing your inner beauty?

    I dunno. I was laughing at “onion drawer.” My 1st thought was, You have a drawer for onions? It definitely sounds like you earned coffee and a knitting lesson. Glad you enjoyed it!

  17. Vacuuming your drawers. HA!!!! Too much.

    -dies laughing-

    (P.S. I’m having a Starbucks gift card giveaway as well as a Dot Com giveaway, so feel free to come over and bring your friends! I love lurking around your blog. You crack me up or touch my heart or both every time I’m here. :D)

  18. Can you write about vacuuming and drawers on the internet?

    Then, I always did lurve me a little tawdry.

Leave a Reply

