Why you don’t want me on your team

My friends Cheryl and Karen were at my house last night for our once a month Scrabble Poker Night.  As usual, it was mainly an excuse to get together and have dessert too close to bedtime, but we did manage to get one game in before calling it a night. Both Cheryl and Karen are competitive when it comes to whatever it is we’re playing and they do things like STRATEGIZE while I just sit there and wonder if it’s been too soon for me to refill my plate with snacks.

My mother and my brother Jonathan LOVED to play games when I was growing up, and they were always asking me to come join them in Canasta, Rook, or Monopoly, but that required time away from whichever book I preferred to keep my nose in and as such, I was a killjoy on a regular basis.

Cheryl mentioned to Mr. CPQ that I’m never competitive when we play, and he laughed and said I was highly competitive, but I think it’s only when I play with him.  On most days, he’s the sharper tool in the shed and nothing delights me more than besting him at anything.

I’m sure a marriage counselor would have a field day with that.

I ended up losing the game last night, but it doesn’t really matter to me.  What matters is that my friends were at my table, the talking was free-flowing, and the hazelnut pudding and strawberry cake were close at hand.

I venture to say that makes me a winner, every time.

Do you have a favorite game?  Are you competitive?

Have a nice day.

32 responses to “Why you don’t want me on your team

  1. I used to be a lot more competitive until fun food, girlfriend talk, and going to someone else’s house to do absolutely anything became more important. However, I’m still the kind that will make you play “one more time” until I finally win!

  2. I’m sometimes competitive…I love to play Taboo, Scrabble, Trivial Pursuit…really, all board games…and Poker. 🙂

  3. I’m not competiteve… I do enjoy it when I am the unexpected winner though.
    Often.
    Hmmm… maybe I am. Ha

  4. uh, yeah. that would be COMPETITIVE.

    I never said I was in the spelling or typing contests.

  5. If someone would say come on over and we’ll play games, I would say I have to wash my hair that night…or get my fingernails pulled out one by one–either way it’s better than playing games!! Although if you just invite me over for fun food and drinks and THEN pull out the games, I could pretend to play while I’m doing the other stuff! I don’t like to strategize. Isn’t it enough I have to figure out when to grocery shop? Although I do remember liking Who Sunk My Battleship!

  6. I felt happy inside when you said: “I just sit there and wonder if it’s been too soon for me to refill my plate with snacks.” That’s me for sure.

    Although at one time in my life I was uber-competitive. But then Adam and I were leaders on a high school retreat and I got so stressed out about a game that mean-Becca came out a little. And Adam pulled me aside and told me I needed to get some anger management for my competitiveness. So then I realized that I looked like an idiot and I dislike looking like an idiot more than i dislike losing . . . so now I don’t care and prefer to just snack! 🙂

  7. yes. I don’t think I’ll elaborate. I’m pretty sure my husband has referred to me on more than one occasion as the game nazi. He means it lovingly I’m sure. It might be rummikub. It might be scrabble. It might be basketball.

    Oh look..I elaborated.

  8. I’m not really competitive and I’m also not much of a game person. Oh, I’ll play if everyone else wants to but I’d rather eat and chat.

  9. Scrabble. Hands down the best game EVAH. And competitive? Ouch. Yes, but I do enjoy the “fellowship” (isn’t that such a nice Christian word??) more than the competition.

    At least I tell myself that. 🙂

  10. I read once that couples who compete in sports (or games) actually have healthier marriages than those that play on the same team. The thinking is that if they’re on the same team and that team is losing, they blame each other rather than supporting one another. Whereas, if they are on opposing teams, the competitive edge urges them both to do better and … okay, I can’t remember the rest, but I think it had something to do with foreplay.

    Rick and I are EXTREMELY competitive. That’s really an understatement, but I’m not sure how to state the fact more emphatically. Certain games are definitely off-limits because we take the competition too far. But the games we can play offer great fodder for a flirty relationship. 🙂

  11. Ohmyword!!! extremely competitive foreplay?? “She” is really going to delete us!!! hahahaha! Scrabble, here I come!! I’m not even sure I know how to do that!!

  12. I LOVE online Scrabble! Anyone up for a game? 😉

  13. Me and board games … not so much. Yet another example of how we we must have been separated at birth.

    Now a good game of Wii Bowling along with chips and French onion dip … that’s another story.

  14. We are pretty cut-throat at our house, no matter what the game. Whoever wins gets to be the ruler of the entire free world.

  15. love love love board games…b/c i’d much rather be doing that than having to pretend to be a jedi or a princess complete with costumes and battle strategies…

    Just slightly competitive…much more an enjoyer of the game (and food!)

  16. Balderdash is the best game for those non-competers who just like to have fun and socialize. We have had 12+ people playing before and it is hilarious.

    We are not competitive as a rule at my house.

  17. LOVE card games (but NOT poker!) I don’t think I’m competitive, but DH thinks I am. I don’t remember by the next day whether I won or lost, but I love to play. I don’t really like Balderdash…

  18. oooh games!! we love Scrabble and I love Scatagories… Rumikub too, since that is what I played with my grandparents whenever I was at their house. i’m only competitive with Joel b/c most of the time he beats my socks off at Scrabble (though I have finally learned how to stay within 10 points of him). but I kick his butt at Rummy every single time. i refuse to play Yahtzee with my sister because she can beat anyone while blindfolded with her hands tied behind my back. i don’t even bother anymore.

  19. hehe 🙂 that would be “with her hands tied behind her back.” though she could probably beat me with her hands tied behind my back. :-/

  20. I love to play games/cards, but my hubby…yeah, not-so-much. Win or lose, I don’t care, just as long as I don’t ALWAYS lose…….like at my monthly bunco group. I’m basically just contributing $5 for the convo, dinner and chocolate, because I never win.

  21. Competitive, yes. Thrive on it. I like winning. INN doesn’t like games because I would just squash him like a bug.

  22. I don’t really like board games or card games and spent most of my life thinking I was not that competitive at them…..but my daughter would say otherwise. I guess I can be competitive, but I don’t really like that feeling of it, like I’m going to freak out if I don’t WIN WIN WIN…Is that weird?

  23. Scrabble, Balderdash, Rook, Spades, Hearts and I love the snack food too!

  24. I am sooooo not competitive. To me, it’s all about having fun. On the other hand, my hubby is very competitive. In fact, his whole family is. I refuse to play cards with them. It’s just not fun to me! The only way I will play is if my brother-in-law will be my spades partner.
    I just recently played Catch Phrase at the Ladies Retreat. It was tons of fun.

  25. I do not have a competitive bone in my body, unless I am competing against Hubs. Within minutes of a game, I’m usually bored.

  26. Lydia Stevenson

    Love playing card games with adults where you can talk and play at the same time. The family loves Settlers, we play at least once a week. I never win, but it is fun to be together. The girls and Sean are playing a 4 person Mario game on the Wii (they all have to cooperatively work together. Love IT!!) And personally I feel that Monopoly must come off the conveyor belt with the Ouija board at MB because it always causes a fight whether with adults or kids.

  27. I love Hand and Foot, Spades, Speed Scrabble and Skip-Bo. I was just recently introduced to Ticket to Ride and LOVED it too.

    I think Monopoly is the worst game EVER. I never, ever finished a game.

  28. I’m competitive with The Mister…but other than that, I’m not competitive at all…

  29. I only like to whip the pants off the husband. (Whoa…look at that sentence. Totally meant that in the game-playing/competitive kinda way, but it came out all kinds of winkedy-winky.)

  30. Wow. I’m bringing the hubs back by to read all the other comments that prove that I’m not the only one who may or may not be over the top when trying to throttle her husband in a game of….whatever.:)

    I’ve gotten better…sometimes.

  31. ” they do things like STRATEGIZE while I just sit there and wonder if it’s been too soon for me to refill my plate with snacks.”

    This is why we’re friends.

    People don’t like playing with me because I have too many “oopsie daisies” which affect them, like when playing Oh H**l and Rummy.

    I say…let me eat cake!

Leave a Reply

