I tried

1.  I tried cooking with tofu this weekend.

The verdict?  Not bad.  The kids tried a bite of what I had and they didn’t throw up at the table.

Unlike their first response to Honey Baked Ham.

2.  I tried chopping with my newly sharpened knife last night.

It did a great job mincing the cilantro and mint into the tiniest of flakes.

It also perfectly cut off 1/8th of my left index finger.

3.  I tried not to swear a blue streak cry.

I managed to keep my lips pursed but in the process contorted my face enough to require Botox.

Is that a medical deduction?

4.  I tried to avoid downloading the Words With Friends app.

I’m not a bandwagon sort of person but curiosity got the best of me, and I’m sure within a week Mr. CPQ will be scouting out the nearest 12 Step program for me to attend.

Oh, and my username is cpqsusan.

Ahem.

5.  I tried switching up some of the pieces in my closet for a new clothing combination.

Let’s just not try that again.

What did you try this weekend?

Have a nice day.

18 responses to “I tried

  1. I tried caffeine again yesterday….and had ample opportunity to regret that decision at midnight last night, 2:30 a.m. and especially at 5:30 a.m. when K’s alarm said it was time to start today!

    I currently have four WwF games going simultaneously. Moderation, thy nickname must not be whimzie.

  2. I tried to play tennis with my husband for the first time in 14 years (when we were dating). I did better than last time. Amid a few enuendos about why, we agreed I indeed have more upper body strength now that I lug around a 30 lb boy!

  3. I tried to shop early, for a change, for Mother’s Day and I was successful!

    I tried grilling turkey tenderloins, and everyone liked it, except the one who never eats anything I cook.

    Sorry about your finger! I know two people who have had the same thing happen. Give it time and it will heal.

  4. Hmmm, I tried meeting some blog friends in person. It was fun 🙂 And I also tried NOT to sit on the dead mouse at Metro Kidz. Luckily, I managed to avoid it but my friend Amy did sit on it. Blech.

  5. I tried garage sale shopping, and roasting a whole chicken, and making your Roasted VEggie Orzo Salad (it tastes better when you make it).

    I tried to watch Spongebob with my children on Saturday night.

    Couldn’t do it. That show is annoying.

    Happy Monday!

  6. I wish I had bought you a mezzaluna at the CIA…I bought one for myself because I have a similar relationship with knives…this is a great tool for chopping herbs which can be especially dangerous for people like us who did not get the knife-skills gene.

    I tried watching The Hurt Locker but it was so intense it made me clench all my stomach muscles…do you think I can count that as working out?

  7. I tried on 27 bridesmaid dresses and came to the sad realization that I don’t have the body of a 20 year old anymore. Obviously I’ve been in denial for the past 10 years.

  8. I tried to do much of nothing this weekend and almost succeeded.

  9. Since our homeschool group’s end of year program was successfully completed on Saturday night, I spent the rest of the weekend trying to convince myself that it would be OK to ditch the rest of the school year.

  10. …at least you didn’t knock the knife onto your foot, ruining it for the rest of your life. Not that I would know anything about that or anything. I’m just saying. Don’t forget footwear in the kitchen.

    That is all.

  11. I worked allllllll weekend. In between working, I contemplated what diet to go on.

    Exciting, no?

  12. I want to see the outfit that you put together.

  13. I got a new washer! It’s like a space ship! I already cracked the top of the tub! (sniff)

  14. I tried not to complain this weekend.

    It was a dismal failure. Like I told Lyd, I MUST KEEP MY EYES ON THE PRIZE and not get caught up in how uncomfortable this is.

    Anyway, that’s what I tried.

    And I’m REALLY impressed with your tofu undertaking.

    And I’m really sorry about your finger. And I’m glad Jack wasn’t there. Because he totally would have DFO’ed. 🙂

  15. I measured my left index finger, it’s 3 inches. If yours is of similar size, you are missing 3/8 of an inch from your finger – that is almost 1/2 inch!! That certainly would qualify as a medical deduction.

  16. I tried not coveting the iPhone but it’s official now.

  17. I tried not to cry (unsuccessfully I might add) at my children’s first T-ball game. Joy!

    I tried to outdrive my husband on the golf course (unsuccessfully I might add). He was in the zone! He’s the best golfer who only plays three times a year.

    I tried not to buy my daughter a pink T-ball bat. Yep, you guessed, unsuccessful again.

  18. I tried to keep caught up on blogs, but alas, not so much .

    Hope your finger is healing nicely.

    Please apologize to the kids for feeding them tofu.

Leave a Reply

