Today’s whiney post brought to you by lack of caffeine

When I went to get my coffee this morning, the little red light of love was not on.  I tried to keep the panic from creeping into my voice as I asked Mr. CPQ why there was no life-sustaining brew and he informed me that we were completely out except for four random pounds of decaf in the freezer and he knew better than to try to pass off decaf as the real thing to me.  I plaintively explained to him that my morning quart cup is what kept his small children alive and he nodded his head sympathetically and gently broke the news that there was nothing he could do until FedEx delivered our order.

It sounds snobby to say that we drink mail-order coffee, but it’s not the kind you see on the glossy pages of  a magazine.  Most people would consider our brand run of the mill, but most people would be wrong, wrong, wrong.  We drink Tim Horton’s coffee which we discovered on a Canadian vacation several years ago and we were instantly hooked.  I had seen signs for Timmy’s (sorta’ like Dunkin’ Donuts) as we drove around Toronto and Niagara Falls and we popped in on a whim, but we were so hooked that before the vacation was up, we were popping in three times a day; me for coffee and Mr. CPQ for the Boston Creams. When we returned home, we scoured the Web for a way to get it delivered to North Carolina and ended up finding a guy on Ebay who lives in Michigan who for the last couple of years has sent it to us in 25-pound case lots.

That sounds slightly drug dealer-ish.

And like I have a little “problem”.

Which I do.

This morning I had to go to Starbucks (for the children, people, FOR THE CHILDREN) and since I hadn’t been by the bank I was running low on cashola.  I raided the jelly jar I keep in the center console of the truck and nickeled and dimed the barista for my skinny vanilla latte.  I must have been sporting the “don’t mess with me” look because he cheerfully took my change and told me to have a great Monday.

It’ll be great if the FedEx guy appears.

Have a nice day.

P.S. This post has been updated more than once to correct mispellings and add a link.  Again, no coffee.

28 responses to “Today’s whiney post brought to you by lack of caffeine

  1. I am so sorry you had to deal with coffee drama this morning.

    Seriously, I would FREAK out.

    Of course, you know this….since you have experienced a near freak out no-coffee moment with me.

    Oh, I shudder just thinking about it…

  2. Your whole day is gonna be off. I’m just sayin’. And I know you got your coffee but its a mental thing…trust me on this one because I had a day like that last week and the whole day is off. I mean you can still have a good day but its gonna be slightly off kilter. I am sure you know exactly what I mean.

    I hope the Fed Ex guy turns up today!

  3. There are certainly days where I wish I could handle coffee…..we have had many Ohio buddies visit us who HAD to have it and therefore I have learned where all the Starbucks are in this vicinity.

    And I don’t consider it snobbish to Fed Ex what you like. Makes me feel better to hear your story knowing that we HAVE to order our popcorn from Iowa and it comes in such a heavy box that the neighbors laugh when I try to get it in my front door. Of course I give up and wait for Brian to come home. To us….it is Christmas when we get our white Iowa popcorn by Fed Ex. 🙂

  4. I’m on the way to my pot right now…I’ve heard many exciting things about ol’ Timmy’s but haven’t partaken yet…

    That Mr. CPQ is a man after my own heart w/ his Boston Cream Donut choice!

  5. If you’re going to drink “imported” coffee, why would you drink anything but COBAN coffee? Decide: “My day will be okay, and it will!

  6. Timmy’s? I have never heard of the brew. I will have to investigate. And I like to consider myself a coffee afficianado (which I can’t even spell). Obviously, I’m not, but am on my 3rd cup of Community Coffee (hey, I live in New Orleans — ya gotta have a little chickory mixed in with your coffee once in a while).

    Off to google Timmy’s….

  7. Oh my gosh! I totally know the exact feeling (of terror) if I go downstairs and the RED LIGHT IS NOT ON!
    You just might have to take the rest of the day off. (For the children, of course)
    Just sayin’

  8. Folks at Starbucks are trained simlarly to the tellers at the bank. They know that crazed look when they see it. Only you aren’t wearing a stocking over your head.

    Hand over the coffee, man. And make it a Venti.

  9. It has warmed my heart to see the level of commiseration here today.

    *she feebly typed because she didn’t have her Timmy’s*

  10. My life…until one day out of the blue your doctor tells you that you can no longer have caffiene…you look at him and then remember murder is illegal (and wrong). You quit cold turkey…barely keep your friends, your job (and your kids). Then your doctor tells you that you can add decaf back into your diet. Taste…good. Caffiene…not needed anymore. Never thought I’d say those words.

    I hope for your sake (and your kids) that the Fed Ex guy comes and that you can sign your name very quickly (for his sake)

  11. Oh how I miss my Tim Horton’s. Except when I lived in Canada, I drank their “peach drink” rather than their coffee since I was about 10 years old. But I hear it’s good.

  12. I only drink plain ol’ Folgers but I absolutely can’t live without it. I do love the brew at Dunkin’ Donuts and I am tempted to buy a bag at the store. Have fun stalking the FedEx guy today.

  13. I love you!!! I can say that with enthusiasm and laughter because I have had my coffee in my favorite huge mug this morning. In fact, I’m sneaking in there right now to get more. Before you think I have a problem, remember I’m on Pacific time so I get to drink coffee later in the day than you. Never mind that it’s 10:24 and I should be moving on to exercise and water by now 🙂

  14. Imnotned thinks he’s so clever.

    There is a BIG difference between drinking caffeine as an addiction, and drinking it to feel normal.

    I’m not addicted, I just need it to feel normal.

    Addiction, pshaw…

  15. I’ve had coffee AND tea this morning. (and my fingers are shaking as I type!) Receiveing your favorite addiction in the mail is nothin to blush at. The tea I drank this morning was shipped here from Paris. How’s that for a snob?

  16. Oh the things one must do FOR THE CHILDREN! You crack me up. I think we’ll have to visit your SS class again so we can benefit both from your Biblical insights and your wit.

    • carpoolqueen

      Sherri’s referring to Sunday morning’s discussion regarding the consequences of sin:

      Leader: What happens when a man cheats on his wife?

      Me: He gets shot.

  17. At the risk of revealing myself as a tea drinker – can’t you just go to the grocery store and buy a pound of any old caffeine filled coffee until the good stuff arrives? Some days you have to simply do what you have to do to get by.

  18. That’s TERRIBLE! I’ll get that Starbucks card in the mail, stat. (Which means first thing tomorrow. Praying you get your coffee before you get your card from Georgia. Thank God we’re done with the move. Blech.)

  19. Rachel has obviously never had Timmy’s coffee.

    I thought I was over Timmy. We’ve been out of his brew for quite some time. Since his is the only coffee I will drink, I haven’t had any coffee since. I don’t like coffee. I like Timmy’s. And a brand I bought from the coffee farm on the Big Island.

    Starbucks smells like wet dog. I don’t like their coffee. But their chai? And the peppermint hot chocolates? I’ll drink those.

    And now I’m going to go pine for Timmy. Sigh.

  20. I have a Tim Horton’s within walking distance from my house. Come on over! 😉 Heck, what’s a quick trip to WV when you are out of COFFEE?

    I’d even ship you emergency coffee in a pinch, if you needed it. 🙂

    I’m a fan of Tom Horton’s b/c they provide our entire soccer league with jerseys. It is so cool! Plus, after a game, I can take Matt over to Tim’s and they give him a free hot chocolate! He LOVES that. Plus, he knows I’ll buy him a donut to replenish his energy. 🙂

  21. So I see the title of this post and I think, “Hey! When did I write this!?” And then I realize it was written by someone else who is freakishly reading my mind. Scary.

  22. Oh my! I would have just gone to bed with a caffeine withdrawal headache the size of Texas if I was denied my coffee!

  23. All I can say is, “Wait until you hit the big ‘M’… that all ladies go through. The best defense against hot flashes is NO CAFFEINE!

    • ACCKKK! Are you kidding? I had no idea. Am I going to try that? Nope, not yet. I think I’ll try other things first and then if I’m desperate I’ll give the no caffeine a go then and only then.
      Bother.

  24. Oh I do feel your pain, Carpool Queen, as I am on DAY TWENTY-FOUR without my beloved mocha frappuccino. And did I mention that was TWENTY-FOUR days?!? It has been a sad little van that drives by the Starbucks house of love the last few weeks. Remembering. Remembering. I am hoping you are recaffeinated soon.

Leave a Reply

