Cinco de Hold the Mayo

Cinco de Mayo was heartily celebrated at Casa de Carpool last night.  We ate off paper plates in the formal dining room and feasted on tacos, homemade guacamole, black beans, and fried plantains.

I’m picky about guacamole, so I make my own instead of buying the supermarket kind that’s made with mayo or sour cream or who knows what else.  Guacamole is very simple and it should only have four, maybe five ingredients:  avocado, lime juice, salt, finely diced onion and maybe some diced tomato.

Thus saith the Lord.


I don’t know if the kids were more excited about the festivity of the evening or by the fact that I made dessert for the first time in a month.  I was going to make brownies and rationalize them as culturally appropriate since cacao beans are grown in Mexico, but at the last minute I caught a Tweet from Pioneer Woman (PW) about Tres Leches Cake and I had all the ingredients so I gave it a try.

I was not disappointed.

At first I was worried that I wouldn’t like it because I have issues with eating food soaked in liquid as evidenced by the fact that I dive into my cereal at the same time the milk is hitting the bowl, but this cake was not soggy in the least and was absolutely delicious.

I’d post pictures but there’s no improving on the ones that PW has on her blog.

And there’s nothing left of the cake to photograph, anyway.

After dinner was over, I tried to interest the boys in a Mexican Hat Dance, but they decided they’d rather reenact the Battle of Puebla, so I left them to their swordplay while I ate more cake cleaned up the dishes.

Have a nice day.

Ole.

20 responses to “Cinco de Hold the Mayo

  1. I am so impressed you had all the ingredients. Sweetened condensed milk on hand?? You are mother of the year!! Looks yummy! I’m sure Jillian Michaels, who is torturing me with her 30 day shred dvd, would wag her skinny little finger at me if I even thought of taking a bite of that cake! Good thing I don’t care what she thinks!

  2. Yum. Looks like a fun night was had by all! : )

  3. And now I’m craving guacamole at 8:11 in the morning.

    And Adrienne just outed herself as a non-southerner. I never thought of it before now, but I guess having sweetened condensed milk in your pantry at all times is another one of those quirky Southern things.

  4. Oh, don’t get me wrong–I love it!!! Like eat it on a spoon or drink it out of the can…but then I would be doing that 30 day shred 3x/day! Do y’all ever put it in coffee? I had a friend who did that. Sorry–didn’t mean to bring up the word “coffee.” How’s that going btw?

  5. Now I’m craving guac.
    Is 9:30am too early to have it?

  6. awww man – much better than the y ucky Mcdonalds my kids scarffed down in the car with their grimy hands straight from the horse farm 😦 You didn’t even drink coffee at lunch yesterday, did you? Your cool shoes must have made up for your withdrawal..

  7. yeah I’m pretty sure guacamole is in the Bible somewhere too.

  8. Ah, the coffee must have arrived. Did you save any for Mr. CPQ?

  9. And now we are bosom guacamole buddies… that is EXACTLY how it’s made in this house.

    MMM. Plantains. Billy’s Puerto Rican uncle taught me how to make those and Puerto Rican rice and lechon last time we visited. Need to make it SOON.

  10. I am TOTALLY with you on the guac!! It needs nothing more. Now I’m off to browse PW’s recipes.

  11. I can’t seem to develop a taste for plantains. Perhaps I should soak them in sweetened condensed milk.

  12. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM.

  13. Ok – I had no clue that some people make their guac with MAYO? Really? That is just wrong. I agree with you list of the 5 basic ingredients (except sometimes I throw in a few diced jalapenos for good measure) – you can’t beat that combo.

  14. What a fun mom you are to “go all out” with the festivities! I must say cookin awesome meals is your way of showing love to those around you.

    Hope work is going better. 🙂

  15. Amen and amen (in response to “thus saith the Lord”).

    That cake? Oh.my.goodness.gracious. Imma gonna hafta make that some day! Soon!

    Your Cinco de Mayo totally put mine to shame. Burritos and margarita mix. My poor, deprived kids.

  16. I would love to write a more verbose comment, but I have to get back to work…so let me just say..

    I love your blog. I always leave with a smile. And sometimes a craving…like now…guac or cake..hmmmm??

  17. My hub would agree with you about the guac. He is very picky- no mayo and no sour cream added. I believe the word “ruined” comes up.

  18. When I finally get to come visit you, I will be bringing my list of ‘foods Sus blogged about and I must try’
    Then, I will plant myself at your table, tie a napkin around my chin, and semi-patiently wait for your guacamole, plantains, and the other things I will put on the list.

  19. Ditto the crunchy cereal thing. I love guacamole, too, but haven’t gotten the hang of timing the ripeness of the avocados properly.

  20. I’m checking out your plantains. Did you saute them in butter? Anything else I should know? Have tried a couple times now and still have not had overwhelming success . . . Maybe a little maple syrup would be good 🙂

Leave a Reply

