In which I declare I’m no longer a vegetarian

Well, the “vegetarian until 6:00” thing turned out not to be the life changing event that I had hoped.  On the up side, I’ve developed some new eating habits and given my vegetable bin a reason for being.

On the down side, I also learned new ways to rationalize eating copious amounts of Pringles.

The nice part of being off the plan is that I had a great lunch yesterday at a restaurant that had been recommended by a friend.  I knew it was going to be good when she told me it was in the same shopping center as an African braid place, a car repair garage and Mike’s Romantic Torture tattoo shop.

I ordered the panang chicken which is Thai for “open your sinuses” and as I was ladling the curry onto my fish-shaped rice, I noticed the man at the table next to me was spooning his rice into the bowl and then I started to obsess about whether or not I was eating Thai food in a culturally inappropriate way and spent the rest of my meal trying not to stare at other diners to find out which way was correct.

One of these days I’m going to stop worrying about what other people think of me.

Or consult a shrink.

In case you’re worried about me not having a food plan now that I have kicked vegetarianism to the curb, fear not.  I am never without a backup plan and I’ve moved on to drinking cranberry water with flax seed because I have no idea why.  I’ll let you know how that goes, and in the meantime….

Have a nice day.

17 responses to “In which I declare I’m no longer a vegetarian

  1. I may have to make a special trip now that I’m craving Thai food.

    Did you get braids or a tattoo while you were in the area? Or both?

  2. If you are really wondering how to eat panang chicken/rice, I can ask a friend who was a missionary there, if you would like.

  3. I was looking at a Thai cookbook on sale at Waldenbooks yesterday. I wonder if this is a sign that I should have bought it? 🙂 We have NO Thai restaurants around here and I love Thai food!

  4. Your fish-shaped rice reminds me of the “sushi” someone brought to my daughter’s Student Council banquet last night. They were rice krispie treats with a gummy fish on top and wrapped with a transparent fruit roll up! I’m not big on sushi, but I might could have handled those – if I liked gummy fish!

  5. My sort-of-an-expert-b/c-he-used-to-live-in-Thailand-friend said this:

    “rice always goes on the plate first. traditional thai style is to give everyone a plate of rice and put all the “gup” in the middle. everybody spoons the gup into their plate and mixes with a little rice to eat.”

    I don’t think you had anything to worry about. 🙂

  6. That “vegetarian while the sun’s out” diet was just a little too Twilighty for me.

  7. Oh, when I saw that photo, my mouth began to water. I so miss good Thai food.
    My husband eats sticky rice with his hands because he says it is authentic. I tell him the people around him do not know this and think he has no manners.

  8. Vegetable crisper. Hmmm. Not at my house. More like: “science project”.

    If God had intended for us to eat/enjoy veggies,He’d have fried them & salted them, directly out of the ground.

    Just sayin.

  9. So did you hear from your brothers??

  10. I went to a shee-shee-fru-fru restaurant with a gift certificate I got from a student. They served whole edamame. Rich and I had never seen it before and started just eating it whole, then we realized that people were just eating the insides. We then said “dang nabit” and hollered up for granny to go get the kinfolk and load up the truck.

    Yeah that is the way I roll.

  11. I’ll go on the Frappuccino diet with you.
    That’s what friends are for.

  12. Oh I do that too about how to eat things. For my sister’s bday dinner we had authentic homemade Indian food and, as it turns out, the way you’re supposed to eat Indian food is by tearing off pieces of the delicious tortilla-like-bread (although clearly that’s not what it’s called since tortilla is Mexican . . . ) and using it to pick up the rice, curry etc before popping it in your mouth. Never would have guessed that one.

    ps – I love Thai food. And Thailand is one of my favorite places I’ve ever visited 🙂

  13. Welcome back, carnivore

  14. We would so be doing dinner together so often if I didn’t live 6000 miles away. Thai. um…yum.

  15. Swasdee’s is one of my favorites! Did you know they have another location across the street from the church? Yum.

  16. You have now entered the zone of my love language.

    Thai Food.

    And now I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

