Turn on your hot light

We went out to eat last night at Chick-fil-A because I’m trying to see how many days in a row I can get away with not cooking supper and/or serving leftovers.

Answer?

Four.

While we were eating, Mr. CPQ casually asked if the kids had finished their homework for the day and if I had any after-dinner plans.  Sensing a dessert opportunity, I quickly replied that there were absolutely no plans of any sort and there would never ever be any plans in the history of mankind that might conflict with a sugar rush.  It was then he mentioned that Krispy Kreme had reopened downtown after their months-long closure for renovation and maybe we should check it out on a weeknight instead of on the weekend when it might be more crowded.

He’s brilliant, this one.

Now you see why I married him.

So off we went.

We ordered a dozen hot glazed and because we had the Boss Man who has no willpower with us, another dozen of assorted crullers, raspberry filled, chocolate glazed, and Boston Cremes. 

Coffeegal would have had a coniption.

We, however, had us a little “consumption”.

Have a nice day.

21 responses to “Turn on your hot light

  1. Ha-love the post title : )

    This reminds me of a day long ago (when I was young and oh so thin) that hubs and I stopped at a Krispy Kreme and ate an entire dozen (original only please) in the parking lot before heading to his parents house. We’d been living in the land of No Krispy Kreme and it was just too much.

    On a side note, I’ve paid the equivalent of $14 for a box at Harrods. The exchange is better now so they are probably slightly less but it was worth every ‘pound’. Literally.

  2. There’s nothing like Krispy Kreme – especially when they’re hot-n-now! Yum, Yum!

  3. Yes! Yes! Yes!!!
    We’ve been waiting for-EVER for it to reopen!!!

  4. Coniption and consumption in the same post. I love it.

  5. That makes me want Krispy Kreme today!! And there aren’t any close up here in VA 😦 I will definitely be stopping by next weekend when I’m in Raleigh!

  6. I guess it’s safe for us to return now, huh?

    And let me assuage your fears … if this gallbladder-less body survived the past few days of less than stellar nutritional choices, Krispy Kremes shall once again tremble and quake before me.

  7. Well, blow me down…I thought that Krispy Kreme only made the glazed donut. I see there are other swoon-worthy choices. Good thing the nearest KK is 50 miles from me.

  8. I don’t think y’all sampled enough. I think I will take one for the team and we can all go back again.

    I might even buy a dozen…and see if they freeze well.

    (This from the one who just had a chocolate malt for lunch.)

  9. And, not that it matters, but your linked to another random blog. Its http://www.coffeegal.blogspot.com the original La Vida Dulce!

  10. I think someone around here needs to “fan” Krispy Kreme on Facebook. 🙂 http://www.facebook.com/KrispyKreme?ref=ts

    Why? Because that’s how I found out that TOMORROW is National DOUGHNUT DAY and participating Krispy Kreme stores are giving away FREE DOUGHNUTS (no purchase necessary.)

    Can you imagine? OH, the JOY!!! 🙂

  11. If there is a big crowd, they often “give away” free donuts” while you are in line. Glad we went there a week ago in Winston Salem, because they are not on my new gotta-get-some-weight-off program that started yesterday…

  12. No one said it? “Let it shine whenever you go!”

  13. Ahhh! They have re-opened just in time for my kids to take their “A’s” from year-end report cards and receive free doughnuts in return. Our car doesn’t venture inside the beltline without making a pit stop at Krispy Kreme. Good plan Mr. CPQ!

  14. Lydia Stevenson

    They weren’t Krispy Kreme’s, but once when traveling back to Poland, we found a Dunkin Doughnuts in the Berlin train station. They have absolutely nothing like KK or DD here so we bought two dozen and got back on the train. The 5 of us began consuming them in a rather quick manner. Then, we saw the young Polish man’s look of disgust who was sitting next to us.. We did offer him one,he declined. No telling what he told his buddies about the disgusting Americans.

  15. Since you love to travel with a “goal in mind”, if you ever go through Indianapolis, there is a place called Long’s Bakery that has awesome donuts! Used to stop there on my way to work at 0-dark-thirty, & when we went back several years ago they were still just as good.

  16. I’m all about some consumption.

  17. I enjoyed catching up on your blog. I had many laughs especially when I saw the gold jacket. I am sure it looks LOVELY on.
    I so wish I was near a Krispy Kreme right now. My mouth is watering. I hope you are enjoying your summer.

  18. chik fil a and kk in one day? that is AWESOME!

  19. I got a sugar rush just reading about this adventure.

Leave a Reply

