10 on the 10th: World Cup Edition

Thank you, Meredith, for enabling my love of the list.

_________________________________________________

1.  This may be my one and only sports-related blog post.

2.  The World Cup starts tomorrow.

3.  It is a soccer tournament.

4.  I played soccer as a youngster.

5.  I was the goalie.

6.  Not because I had excellent skills.

7. But because I couldn’t run down the field without throwing up and/or gasping for breath.

8.  I somewhat obsessively kept World Cup scrapbooks as a child.

9.  I always cheered for Argentina.

10.  Because they had the cutest players.

OVERTIME

11.  One year my dad bought a bigger television specifically for World Cup watching.

12.  I about fell over when he did that.

13.  He even let us watch it DURING SUPPER so we wouldn’t miss a game.

14.   I love my dad.

15.  And I still love Argentina.

Have a nice day.

13 responses to “10 on the 10th: World Cup Edition

  1. And now I can’t get “Don’t cry for me, Argentina!” out of my head…

  2. I’d like to interrupt my visit to the armpit that is moving to say, GO, SOUTH AFRICA!!! WOO HOO!!

    Did I ever tell you that I had a layover in Italy when the World Cup was held there in 1990? On my way to…

    SOUTH AFRICA! GO, SOUTH AFRICA!!

    I always tell my World Cup joke every chance I get. So here you go:

    Q. What’s the difference between a tea bag and the US Soccer team?

    A. A tea bag stays in the Cup longer.

    You’re welcome.

    (But I will also be cheering for the USA team(s).

    And for South Africa.

  3. ….and now I will close the parentheses from the previous comment. )

  4. I am from the midwest so soccer is HUGE where I am from. But so it green jello with miracle whip on top…so that’s not saying much.

    I do love soccer…not so much the jello.

  5. Oh man but I love soccer and the World Cup so much! I’m super-bummed that we’ll be at camp without cable, and unable to watch.

    We were also without cable last World Cup, but we improvised by watching it on the Spanish channel, even though we dont speak Spanish, which we could pick up with our rabbit ears. It turns out that it’s way more exciting watching soccer on the Spanish channel, particularly when they score goals! 🙂

  6. I’m glad I am not the only person who picks sports teams based on the cuteness of their players…

  7. You win the prize for the most surprising 10 on the 10th post. Because I would have never imagined you as the soccer type. But I love that you cheered for Argentina b/c of their cute players. Made me laugh.

  8. “Don’t cry for me, Argentina!” 🙂

    Loved your list and it made me laugh, especially the running down the field and throwing up part. Ha!

  9. I ws going to say that I learn something new about you every time I read….but instead I have to say….WHO IN THE WORLD came up with the idea to put green jello and mayo together????? What is the world coming to?

  10. How dare you pull for Argentina!! GO BRASIL!!!!!

    🙂

  11. Does numbering the sentences in a post technically count as a “list”?

  12. I’m surprised Jack Chaney hasn’t chimed in on this one. Because, honey, that’s ALL I HEAR ABOUT on a daily basis.

    World Cup This and World Cup That.

    Not that I’m sick of it or anything…

  13. The sensory integration dysfunction in me cringes at those awful horns. However, I likey soccer, too. And I was goalie. For the same reasons as you.

Leave a Reply

