Monday Musings

I’m home.

Those are beautiful words to me, almost as beautiful as “No, we don’t have to drive 800 miles today.”

We had a great trip, made even more wonderful by the fact that I got behind a car with California tags that was headed west at a speed akin to greased lightning and he and I were best friends for hours as we ticked off mile after mile of asphalt.  I was disappointed that I had to leave him in Oklahoma City and was tempted to pay his hotel for a week if he’d trailblaze across the desert with me next week.

We were whupped by the time we pulled into my parents’ driveway last night and for the first time since I was twelve, I went to bed before my mother.  I don’t think I’m going to step foot outside the house today and the agenda is pretty light for a few days.  We’re going to sit and visit, two of my favorite things to do.  We’ll talk about the neighbors, fuss over the roses and the tomato plants, go to Walmart one or twelve times, and enjoy being together.

There’s no place like home.

Have a nice day.

16 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. Have lots of fun Dorothy : )

  2. There’s just something about being at home… This post made me smile today. 🙂

  3. Sounds like a wonderful plan! Enjoy!!

  4. Awwww….familiarity is awesome! I love being behind cars on the road like that.! You are such a hoot.

  5. So glad you made it safely-jealous of your jaunt west! We are headed to Texas to my sister’s and then to Arkansas to my parents (where I am leaving my pack of wild monkeys for a week-woohoo!) But we aren’t going anywhere I haven’t been before. 😦

  6. isn’t it true?? there’s no place like home . . . i’m feeling that one right about now.

  7. ahhh..sounds wonderful!

  8. Glad you made it safely & in good time! Hope you have a wonderful time “at home”!!!

  9. I feel your gladness. I know that feeling of being at Mama’s house. Ain’t it sweet? Hope you have a great time!

  10. It’s so true isn’t it . . . where we grew up is always “home.”
    Have a great time!

  11. Enjoy your visit. Can’t wait to go home this summer, too.

    Hope

  12. This makes me smile! Have a great week! Can’t wait to see you in a few!

  13. Home…

    It is wonderful!

    Can’t wait to hear whats else you’re up to!

  14. Glad you made it safely. Isn’t visiting and doing nothing in particular just the best?

  15. And go to Walmart one or 12 times.

    Yup. We do that, too.

  16. if you came to cali, you could drive behind LOTS of trailblazers.

    just sayin’

Leave a Reply

