Call the Glass Doctor; We’ll fix your pane

I’m sitting in the waiting area (it’s too small to call “room”) of Glass Doctor in Lawton as the crack from the rock that hit the Suburban’s windshield somewhere on I-40 gets repaired.

I don’t know if I’m more excited about getting it fixed or about having 45 minutes of quiet to peruse 8 month old glass industry trade magazines.

I’m hoping it doesn’t take more than an hour to fix because there’s only one small bathroom here for customer use and it is WAAAY too close to the receptionist’s desk for comfort (and now you know I have space issues with public restrooms).

This is the first time I’ve ever had any kind of car issue on a trip. I called my insurance agent back in NC to ask her what I needed to do and she said, “Oklahoma? Really? What in the world are you doing THERE?”. I tried politely explaining that there was civilization away from the East Coast but I could tell she didn’t believe me.

Maybe she will when she gets the bill.

Have a nice day.

9 responses to “Call the Glass Doctor; We’ll fix your pane

  1. Our trip adventures always involve tires. It’s interesting to note that windshield repair places sound similar except I assume you don’t have to smell tires while perusing the mags.

    I am assuming you aren’t in the area of flooding?

  2. Are you from that area? Did you know there is a wildlife preserve Lawton? We went there several years ago. We also had the biggest burgers I’ve ever seen in my life at a place called Mears. It would be a perfect stop on a big ball of twine tour.

  3. The last time I needed a windshield fixed they came to my house and changed it in my driveway! I have a minivan, so it was no small task…who knew they made housecalls?

    Enjoy your time in Oklahoma–there’s no place like home!

  4. Don’t you just a love a nosey insurance adjuster? I know I do.

  5. And your adjuster is the reason that I keep beating my head against the brick wall, continuing to say, “Manners matter!” Every time my children leave my presence for sleep-overs, school, practice, etc. Sheesh.

  6. Glad you are getting some “alone” time… Also glad you are getting that fixed before proceeding on out there in the wilderness….LOL!

  7. Oh just wait til you get to Colorado. It’s considered the norm to have a cracked windshield. We replaced one and two days later a hail storm resulted in another purchase.

  8. Oh…you’re supposed to fix those cracks?

    Huh. Who knew?

  9. my cousin & his grown children live in Flagstaff. I do hope the fire is out now. I envy you the Grand Canyon time. I think it must be one of the 7 wonders of the modern world, and maybe the ancient one. too.

    I am sorry I missed seeing you & the boys in Duncan–it was a busy week. May there be a picture of them soon. luv, nelda

Leave a Reply

