Ten on Tuesday

1. We had our best meal in New Mexico Tuesday morning at Sophia’s Place in Albuquerque. It was also featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives and with ten tables inside and the bathroom outside and around back, it definitely qualified as a dive. The food, though, was so delicious. Mr. CPQ and I both had the huevos rancheros and the kids had breakfast burritos that were bigger than their heads.

2. We crossed the Western Continental Divide today. Funny, we crossed the Eastern Divide on the first day of our trip which seems like it was eons ago.

3. Speaking of eons, we toured the Petrified Forest and saw the remains of ancient trees littered across the ground.

Yeah, that was about as exciting as it sounds.

4. In other news, we drove past the forest fires in Flagstaff. We couldn’t see any flames, but we saw the smoke from 70 miles away.

5. I stood on a corner in Winslow, Arizona.

6. We drove past the Wigwam Motel in Holbrooke and I wish we had made reservations there. How cool would that have been?

7. We have yet to see a cactus.

8. We had dinner at the Pine Cafe in Williams. They are known for their pie.

9. Mr. CPQ had the strawberry cheesecake pie which is the single slice with the red topping on the lower right side in the picture. I had the Boston Creme.

10. I’m already planning my post-vacation diet.

Have a nice day.

9 responses to “Ten on Tuesday

  1. Love the Eagles shout out….and of course the pie.

    I hope a cactus turns up soon…here’s my experience with a cactus- I tried a prickly pear margarita in Sedona and my cheeks turned fuschia which incidentally was the color of the drink. But it was delicious. We were traveling with another couple and my friend tried one too. Same thing. Beware the cactus.

  2. Oh my goodness – those pies look fantastic!! In my travels, I was surprised to find that you don’t see the cacti until you are approaching Phoenix. Are you getting your kicks on Rt. 66?

  3. One hour before dinner and now I want PIE!!!

  4. The cacti are further south. Believe me, we have plenty of them, but you may not see them depending on where you’re going!

    I know you’re probably tempted to hijack that all-adult train car I told you about. You actually can walk back there I think – it’s the last car. But if you do, you might not want to leave!

    Have fun!

  5. Oh my word. That pie. I want some, right now.

  6. My dad and brother drove me from Iowa to Arizona (Tucson) for grad school and he woke both of us when we hit Winslow and made us sing…we were not amused at the time, but now that he is gone I think fondly of that song and that time. Have a great rest of your vaca!!

  7. Lurve. How great that you and your hubs are such adventurers. And vacays are made for eating. You have all your non-vaca days for dieting, if you so choose.

  8. You need to come back through Central Texas, we have cactus.

Leave a Reply

