The end of the road

Well, it’s the last night of our vacation.  I’m in a hotel room but my brain feels like it’s still on the interstate, chewing up mile after mile of asphalt.  Since Saturday morning, I exited Nevada, and crossed Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, and half of Kentucky.  Tomorrow is the rest of Kentucky, a portion of West Virginia, Virginia, and back to North Carolina.

Somewhere today I passed 5,000 miles on the trip meter and I think I can feel every one of them in my neck and shoulders but I’m not complaining because it has been a great trip.  The kids are still in one piece and as long as I’ve kept them in Redbox movies and a daily fix of french fries, they’ve been happy.

I’ve come across a thousand places I want to live:  a farmhouse in rural Indiana, a ranch in southern Utah, on a mountaintop in Colorado, and on the plains of Kansas.  Each place I’ve come through has its own beauty and majesty and calls to a part of my heart that will forever want to wander and explore all that this world has to offer.

But one place calls me louder.

I miss my husband.

Tremendously.

I miss my cat.

Until he brings in something dead.

I miss my pillow.

Next time I’m traveling with it.

I miss my kitchen.

And food that doesn’t come in a paper bag.

I think I’m ready to be off the road for a little while so I can process the stories and events of the last three weeks.  The word that keeps coming back to me is “unexpected”.  So much of what I saw was not as I had imagined it would be; it was fascinating to get a real sense of place and culture. 

I can’t wait to share my pictures and stories but, more importantly, I can’t wait to get home.

Have a nice day.

11 responses to “The end of the road

  1. If you pass through Wheeling, PLEASE STOP. We have a Tim Horton’s just down the street. 🙂

  2. I would absolutely love to do a road trip like this! However I’m not as big a girl as you and would insist upon the Hubs coming with and THAT is just not going to happen.
    Back in ’99 (kids were 7,9,11) we flew to Baltimore, rented a van and proceeded to put 1300 miles across 13 states in 31 days. Eva since then he just does not like a good ol’ road trip. Bummer. Now the farthest I can get him to go is down the Coast to drop kids off at College.

    So… if you ever want to do the Western half of the nation, I’m your girl!

    Wishing you a safe arrival home!

  3. I salute you but only after I commit you…you crazy girl. Even though…I want to be like you when I grow up.

  4. I can hear the weariness in your voice as you post this. I wish you all the comforts of home. Soon. Meanwhile, sleep tight, and enjoy dreaming of your unexpected treats this journey has brought.

    BTW, I see my honey tomorrow. Can’t even wait.

  5. Dear Queen, I thought I loved you before. Now that I am your fan of the blog, I see you as my futlure famous author friend. I can always brag she was my house cleaner for a while.

  6. You’re almost there!!!!! Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. (dory from finding nemo–in case you forgot that line!)

  7. I agree with Gretchen, you do sound weary. But you also sound happy and thankful. Can’t wait to see your pics and hear your stories!

  8. You sound tired, but at least you’ve kept your sanity. We miss you guys and can’t wait to see you!!!

  9. Plus, NC just isn’t the same without you.

  10. We used to take road trips like that on the “spur of the moment” growing up. Can you imagine?? Once I was at a friend’s house and got a phone call from my mom saying we’d be leaving for Colorado, in the morning, and to come home and pack. What?!? I went to college 10 hours and 3 states from home and a few times I’d find my parents in the parking lot of my dorm. They just thought they’d “pop in”.

    So….I love these adventures and am glad you had such a good time!!
    Can’t wait to see your pictures!!

  11. I’m ready for you to be home. I know it’s not like we’re next-door neighbors when you’re in NC, but you feel further away without our daily AIMs.

    I’m glad this was such a fun trip for you all. Can’t wait to see all the pics!

Leave a Reply

