In which the whole is greater than the sum of its parts

There are a lot of hills upon which I choose to die, but breakfast cereal just isn’t one of them.

Blame it on a knee-jerk reaction to the staples of my childhood, Grape-Nuts and Raisin Bran.

The kids each have their favorite kind.  I guess for posterity’s sake I should note that Tommy loves Fruity Pebbles, Travis lives for Frosted Flakes, and JJ always goes for the Cocoa Krispies.

Anyway, I was cleaning out the pantry this morning in preparation for a grocery run and found a quarter of a box each of Fruity Pebbles and Marshmallow Pebbles (don’t judge).  I also found half a bag of star-shaped marshmallows left over from the 4th of July, so I threw caution to the wind, melted them with a half a stick of butter, threw in both boxes of mixed cereal, and voila! dessert.

I’m sure the preceding sentence is littered with punctuational errors.

Feel free to disregard.


The red, white, and blue stars turned a lovely shade of purple after melting and being stirred together.

It added a certain, as the French say, I don’t know what to the dish.


And they were delicious and tasted exactly like Froot Loops.

Have a nice day.

P.S. Congratulations to Melanie for guessing “pickled turnips” from yesterday’s post.  Sadly, she didn’t win a thing.

16 responses to “In which the whole is greater than the sum of its parts

  1. Pickled turnips and melted marshmallows? What a varied and delectable diet you choose. LOL – what were the pickled turnips pickled with to create that colour – or shouldn’t I ask?
    Blessings!

  2. I’ve never heard of pickled turnips… but I just bought 2 fresh turnips (known at the grocery as “turnip roots”…) I am the only one that likes them, so just enough for me.

  3. Love this!! Grew up on PLAIN cheerios and was overwhelmed with the college cafeteria and the ability to have Lucky Charms every night for dessert. So much so that my Mom would wrap Lucky Charms for one of my Christmas presents. Now those cereals are wrapped for my kids to open Christmas morning.

    I understand “childhood deprivation”. 🙂

  4. Your creativity is inspiring. I love you!

  5. I love GrapeNuts. Weird, I know…

  6. That looks super yummy!! Breakfast of champions!!

  7. I would have never thought of that combo, but yay for using up your leftovers creatively!

    Pickled turnips? Gross.

  8. I’m a winner each day I read your blog! :>)

    Today I learned some French.

  9. Genius!

    I’m a firm believer that adding a stick of butter will make anything palatable.

  10. What colorful yumminess. AG would think she had died and gone to marshmallow cereal heaven!

  11. Extreme “Baking” at it’s best! Love it!

  12. I love it! I’m sure the boys were thinking, “We have such a cool Mom!”

  13. Growing up the most sugary cereal we were allowed was Golden Grahams. My dad layered Total, Raisin Bran, & Grape Nuts in his bowl every morning – and probably still does. I think I threw up a little in my mouth typing that! Our cupboards are filled with sugary cereal – oddly, most of which I have never tasted. Although I try to offer them other healthy choices for breakfast, when it comes to cereal, if it’s on sale they can choose whatever they want!

  14. Lydia Stevenson

    Growing up, dad was in charge of breakfast. This usually consisted of toast and fried bologna. I do believe that the cereal has to be more healthy and tastier than that.

  15. I love the colorful mixture and as one who speaks carbohydrate-eez, yum! I thought you were going to say you mixed all the dregs of the leftover boxes into one cereal…something my dad does (he’s an early August birthday too). Not good eats.

  16. Is it a sickness if you have to eat all the other pieces of the cereal first so as to save all the marshmallows to eat at one time?

    I don’t think that would be considered a sickness.

Leave a Reply

