Monday Musings

It was a good weekend at Casa de Carpool.  We kicked it off with a run to Target on Friday afternoon to celebrate the end of our first week of vacation.  I used the found laundry money to catch up the boys’ allowance that had been owed them for over a month and we had a good time wandering the aisles with no set agenda. The boys bought a toy apiece (Lego sets for Tommy and JJ, trains for Travis) and I found the Ball Blue Book on Preserving on one of the clearance racks and embarrassed my children doing the 90% off shriek of glee in the middle of the store.

By Saturday morning, however, the shriek of glee had turned to moans of despair when Mr. CPQ decided it was time to get the house whipped into shape, but we all dug deep and within four hours got it where it needed to be.

I told him he needed to stay home more often.  I’m much more productive when I have a witness I can socialize with another adult.

We’d booked a babysitter for Saturday night and went to a friend’s house for dinner.  The food was great (grilled chicken, mixed green salad with strawberries and gorgonzola dressing, twice baked potatoes, and blueberry pie with vanilla ice cream for dessert), the company enjoyable, and other than the slight mishap where I sent the contents of the dog’s water bowl flying across the deck, it was a perfect evening.

Just call me Grace.

And on Sunday I rested.

And watched Jerseylicious.

And enjoyed my clean house.

Have a nice day.

6 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. Jealous that you found “my” book on clearance!!! I may have to run over there today and look for it. Currently have apple butter cooking in the crock pot… wishing I was enjoying a clean house!

  2. I call that a “good tired” feeling after you clean/organize/discard the detritus of life and can look back at your accomplishment.

  3. I love how the most detailed part of your post is the meal. It makes me think of the yadda, yadda episode of Seinfeld. “I mentioned the bisque.” 😉

  4. Jerseylicious?! Nooooo! Say it isn’t so!!!

  5. DearSusan–All those A with Accent hats where do they come from.–I newer model computer than a Xp 2000 pro I have or just a never key board? What do they mean?

    What is Jerseylicious? God loves you more the I love youl What a grand time reading each & every one.

  6. I know it’s not a pretty quality, but I am so jealous you found that book on sale! 90 percent off, yegads. What a find. I have been limping along with my Sunset canning book, circa late 1970s, I believe. Time to bite the bullet and just go buy me some new canning books.

Leave a Reply

