What I’ve Learned

1. I learned that I am a little obsessed with bacon-wrapped jalapeño poppers. I drove for 9 hours today and all I could think about was the sweet, spicy, smokey flavor of these little beauties that Whimzie and I made.

Actually, Whimzie did most of the work. I showed her my hangnails and we decided it might be best if I stayed away from the slicing and de-seeding prep work.

I did NOT, however, stay away from the taste testing.

2. I learned that the floorboards of my car can absorb a 20 ounce coke.

3. I learned that a couple of my eleven year olds couldn’t absorb that spilled coke needed to be cleaned up.

Quickly.

4. I learned that certain gas stations carry Blue Bell Ice Cream in a snack-size.

And those three little ounces of Homemade Vanilla were the only things that stood between me and the 6:00 news after we had a little too much togetherness during the trip.

5. And lastly, I learned that we need to work on our vocabulary skills. We were seated around my mother-in-law’s dinner table when Tommy casually mentioned that JJ had homophobia. When I asked him if he knew what that meant, he told me of course he did; it meant JJ missed home.

You learn something new every day.

10 responses to “What I’ve Learned

  1. How did you do the poppers? They look fabulous and jalapeno peppers are my hubs love language. Well, one of them anyway.

  2. I’m not even a bacon lover and I think those poppers look amazing.

    Also, your little diagnosis boy made me laugh out loud right here at the breakfast table. So glad I had swallowed that last sip of coffee.

    Glad you had a safe trip!

  3. Look at the bright side :I’m sure 20 oz of coke will smell better than 20 oz of milk 🙂
    Can I just tell you how relieved I was to read that sometimes you have that “too much togetherness” on the road feeling? I sometimes feel that on the ride home from the grocery store.

  4. I laughed aloud at the need for some vocabulary training…! Isn’t it amazing that those kind of things ALWAYS pop out when “someone” else is around, not in the comfort of the car/home/etc.?!

  5. It is amazing what a car seat can absorb too!!

    Been there done that, and if I am keeping it real…more than once.

  6. Can’t wait to see how many hate-induced Google hits you get on this post.

  7. I’ve got a bowl full of jalapenos from the garden that I need to do something with…I also have bacon…the poppers sound like a plan!

    Ditto the drink thing..except mine was a McD’s sweet tea.

    Glad you’ve taken care of JJ’s ‘issue’… ; )

    Hugs.

  8. Ok. the jalapeno pic is torture. YUM.
    Have you tried Paula’s bacon wrapped chicken bites? Also, YUM

Leave a comment