Monday Musings

It’s the first Monday after 4 days of hedonistic vacation eating so that can only mean one thing.

LETTUCE AND WATER.

We had a great time at Hilton Head and I’d show you all my lovely pictures except for the fact that I forgot to bring a cell phone charger and I only use the camera on my iPhone so just pretend you’re looking at pictures of the sand, the sun, the sea oats, my size 2 tanned-and-toned in my dreams lounging-by-the-pool-with-fruity-umbrella-drinks self and the shrimp po’ boys we ate every single day.

Actually, I have four pictures that I took before the phone conked out on me.  Fellow North and South Carolinians (and anyone who has driven on I-95) might recognize this familiar sight.

That’s right, the sombrero water tower at Pedro’s South of the Border.  I love reading all the signs on our way there.

My favorite one is “You never sausage a place.  You’re always a wiener at Pedro’s”.

Makes me laugh, every time.

You’ll notice the poor picture quality gray overcast skies.  It poured BUCKETS as we were leaving town and flooded half the state and I thought our weekend would be ruined, but we finally drove out from under the cloud by the time we hit the island and the weather was beautiful the entire time.

We’d decided to spend Friday in Savannah and since it was our first time there, we took the trolley tour and saw some beautiful buildings and squares and learned about the book Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil which I have not read but apparently everyone else had because that’s all the tour guide talked about and it seemed to be a pretty big deal.

We hopped off the bus at City Market and wandered down to River Street and spent a few hours browsing shops and the vendor tents that were being set up for a weekend festival.  I ran across a knitter’s tent and I was THIS CLOSE to making off with some funky metallic yarn that I wanted in an “if you buy it the project will come” sort of way, but I restrained myself and have regretted it ever since.

I also regretted not getting this t-shirt.

See the frown?  That’s because I had not fed him yet and he was giving me the “If I don’t eat in the next five minutes I will die” look.  I used my newly installed Yelp app to find Huey’s On the River, a New Orleans style bistro, and the reviews were spot on.  It was delicious.

We bought dessert pralines at River Street Sweets and they were gone before we hit the sidewalk.

On the agenda this week?  Replicating them.

Which will seriously complicate matters for my new lettuce and water diet.

Saturday’s plan was to stay comfortably seated in a beach chair and only leave for sustenance. Whimzie gave me her copy of The Pillars of the Earth which I began reading at 9:30 in the morning and did not put down until it was finished.  My eyes are still a little buggy from all the fine print but it was blissful time soaking up some extra sun while getting lost in the carnage of the Middle Ages.

We drove back on Sunday and made it home by 2:00 and relieved some weary grandparents and hugged some very excited children who were anxious to see what we had brought home for them.

Answer?  Whatever we could find at the truck stop on I-95 in Florence.

And a good time was had by all.

Have a nice day.

14 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. So glad you guys had a nice time away – and the rain stayed up here for ya!

    And…isn’t it really true that sometimes it is just nice to “be in the moment” and not take pictures. This is from someone who LOVES taking pictures and always will – but I’m trying to just enjoy times of not taking pictures more and more.

    Welcome back!

  2. South of the Border-I love it! The signs are the best part.

    I’ve read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and will just say do not bother seeing the movie. It stunk. In my opinion of course. The book was good, but dark.

    So glad you had a wonderful getaway!

  3. I’m so glad you were able to get away together! A much needed togetherness, I am sure. Pillars of the Earth sounds right up my alley!

  4. So jealous of your time away with the husband. I’ve about reached my limit of staring at little people and am thinking it is time for a big-people-only vacay.
    And I haven’t read “Pillars…” — sticking it in my wishlist though…because if you read it instead of take a nap in that beach chair, it must be good.

  5. I love the South of the Border signs, too! In fact your favorite just happens to be my favorite – I think its so clever I once used it in a “speech” I gave to a large group of women. 🙂 Of course I didn’t tell them I borrowed the saying from South of the Border … and I left off the Pedro part but I really did use the sausage part! Happy for you that you had a nice get away with Mr. CPQ

  6. First, that SOTB sign is also my favorite. I have seen it probably 10o times and I still chuckle when we pass it. Two, the pralines in Savannah may be one of the best things ever. We went on our way home from FL a couple weeks ago with sole purpose of getting pralines. One of my husbands most favorite foods on the planet.

  7. Sounds like you had a fantastic time!!! Good luck on the pralines-I have about six different recipes and this is the only one I’ve ever had success with:

    https://docs.google.com/document/edit?id=11_f-Dk2x0CSY6d2cZRWGiksz7ZYyg7A6oBGYtFK8ChM&hl=en&authkey=CIKzmIoG

    I have had Pillars on my nightstand for months… but I’ve had trouble committing to its 11 gazillion pages! Maybe this winter when I can snuggle up in front of the fire!

  8. After we nearly died in Savannah, I ate copious amounts of yummy fudge from the fudge place. It had healing powers. 🙂 And, yes, they are obsessed with the book/movie. Movie is weird-o quirky…and I normally like a little weirdo but it was a little too much.

  9. I am so sad you didn’t buy that moon pie shirt.

  10. I haven’t read the book either. Recreating the po’ boy or the pralines, or both? Yum.

  11. I think you are mean to put food pictures like those shrimp po’boys up there.
    I repeat; that is mean.
    Have a good day.

  12. I would hire you to write my vacation memoirs, if I ever took one:)

    Someday.

  13. I’ve passed by South of the Border many times. Brought back memories!
    Now that you’ve had the tour, you have to read Midnight. It has been a while, but I enjoyed it.

  14. So glad you had a great time! I was sure praying for ALL of you!
    We love the pralines, too, & we took the trolly tour in Beaufort, SC in the spring & love to hear all the history.
    There’s a reason the word “evil” is in that book title… I started to watch the movie on TV once, but it didn’t take long to realize that “being careful little eyes what you see” wasn’t going to include that movie OR the book!
    Good pic of your handsome hubby, but I know what you mean about reaching that point: I get a little wild-eyed when I’ve passed the point of time-to-eat-NOW!

Leave a Reply

