Tuesday Tidbits

I realized after lunch that the lettuce and water thing wasn’t really going to work out for me so I decided to make cinnamon rolls to erase the few remaining vestiges of health  from my life.  I was using PW’s recipe which calls for a quart of whole milk that I didn’t have so I made a quick run to the store to pick it up and set about to scalding the milk and sugar mixture.

Except.

There’s always an except.

In my haste to purchase the milk and get home so that it could scald and be cooling while I picked up the boys from carpool, I didn’t realize that I had grabbed a HALF-GALLON of milk, not a quart, and it wasn’t until I had added the eight cups of flour and still had soup that I realized something was wrong.

At that point I was emotionally committed to the recipe and didn’t want to waste the ingredients I’d already used and so I decided on the fly that I’d just double the recipe.

And let’s not talk about the fact that I had a twenty-five pound bag of flour available for use.

I have a sickness when it comes to keeping a stocked pantry.

I blame my mother.

ANYWAY, the point is, by the time I had twenty cups of flour mixed into the double batch, I had reached the capacity of my largest pot in the kitchen, which is a stock pot.

I decided to refrigerate the dough to make it a little easier to work with and COMPLETELY FORGOT ABOUT THE 4 PACKETS OF YEAST that had gone into this little concoction until I heard screaming from the kitchen when the boys opened the door to get a little snack.

I won’t show you the picture of what the fridge looked like after I took the pot out because I tossed my camera as we frantically started scooping gobs of oozing dough from the shelf, the floor, and the cabinet tops.

Nice.

So I decided the dough didn’t need to be refrigerated and started making the rolls right then and there.

And baked them and ate some for testing purposes….

And wrapped them and put them in the freezer so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat the whole lot in one sitting.

And made a mental note to double check my measurements and math before I try this little project again.

Have a nice day.

22 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. Oh.my.side!!!! You make me laugh!! And I’ll be over this afternoon to help you eat a pan.

  2. Well, at least you won’t have to bake again for a while! LOL I had a similar experience with a rice soup. The recipe called for 4 cups of cooked rice. I started with 4 cups of UNcooked rice. That was some thick soup…

  3. That’s so funny…I’m always trying to double recipes so I can freeze stuff and I usually mess up too! Those look so yummy. I’ve been dieting for the past two weeks and my mouth is salivating now. Yum.

  4. It’s always the math!

  5. There are worse things than making TOO many cinnamon rolls!
    Just sayin’

  6. I wish I had the problem of too many cinnamon rolls today. They look too fabulous for words.

  7. Oh.my.gloopey.yumness.

  8. WOW! That’s a lot of goodness. My little ones would be in cinnamon roll heaven. Today (as on many other days), I’m very sad you’re not my next door neighbor.

  9. Those look SO GOOD!!! I think the story just makes them tastier. 🙂 I think 2 of my kids want to live at your house. 🙂 Or, just trade freezers, since mine, tragically, is empty.

  10. Oh, I’m so glad that I’m not the only one to mistake 1/2 gallon for 1 quart. I haven’t attempted PW’s cinnamon rolls again for fear of the globby mess! Hope yours at least turned out.

  11. I did it with bulgur wheat, making a Turkish salad. I had no idea it would get SO big. I wanted to scream at the recipe giver…what were you feeding the whole country?????

  12. Funny! Sounds like something I would do. You can always mail me a package of these if you don’t have enough room in your freezer!

  13. Hahaha. I know you probably didn’t think it was funny, but that picture of the oozing dough made me laugh. Drown your sorrow in icing. Works everytime.

  14. Looks like your Christmas baking is done! 😉

  15. I am so proud of you for freezing them right away. Such willpower you possess. Math skills, well, I think we had the same teacher. 😉

    Now you will have something yummy to pull out the next time we have a blogger brunch!

  16. Those look soo yummy.. I think that sounds like a fabulous track out project – going to get whole milk stat.

  17. I am impressed by your perseverance!! I have always wanted to try making that recipe from PW’s blog. The reason I haven’t is that the original recipe makes such a huge batch. I am not good at cutting recipes in half, but I have never thought of doubling!!

  18. Been there. Done that, with no humor mixed in. love!

  19. Frozen Cinnamon rolls ship really well and I could use some serious comfort food about now! 🙂 Good for you to not give up and go for it!!

  20. You make me want to bake more often. 🙂 Now I must confess: I have never tried a PW recipe. Everyone raves about them! I just get so distracted by her beautiful photography that I never actually make it from my laptop to my kitchen. Add this to my “Someday” list.

  21. I can email you my address….the FedEx man delivers next day right to my door!!

  22. Is it strange that I am seriously distracted by my jealousy of having enough space to have a 25 lb of flour?? It made my heart beat faster because it’s all I could want…and more!

Leave a Reply

