Tuesday Tidbits

After months of letting my hair grow, I chopped it off last night.  I tried a new stylist that I found on Yelp who was close to my house and after a year of fruitless searching, I think I’ve found The Guy that will make my hair related dreams come true.

I like that he didn’t laugh me out the door when I walked in with a pony tail showing off my inch long roots and he talked to me a good 20 minutes about his vision for my hair which was great because my vision was somewhat clouded by the brown helmet I’d been staring at for the past six months.

More importantly, he talked me out of going back to bangs because he said I was so very close to completely growing them out and it would have been a wasted effort if I cut them back in.

He gets me.

I’m so going back.

Anyway, I’d post a picture of my hair with which I’m very happy but I forgot to take a picture before I left the salon (it had great lighting) and now I’ve slept on it and have bed head so I won’t be posting anything until I’ve showered.

Local friends, his name is Scott at Warren Scott Salon.

And when you see me, don’t let my inability to blow dry it like he did sway your judgement.

Speaking of running (we weren’t, but I needed a segue because I’m determined not to make a numbered list today), I went to Raleigh Running Outfitters yesterday to buy a Strassburg Sock because I have plantar fasciitis stemming from wearing really bad shoes for an extended period of time and it still hasn’t gone away.


Isn’t that the ugliest thing you’ve ever seen?  I came in last night after my hair appointment looking all cute and then crawled into bed wearing those socks and Mr. CPQ said “The top half of you says ‘Sassy’ but the bottom half says ‘I’ve given up.'”

I smacked him.

Have a nice day.

16 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. My roots are ridiculous, and my cut is shaggy and yucky. I need a new stylist too. What is yelp? Your new stylist sounds great – I love when they take the time to actually talk to me and listen to what I want.

  2. Sometimes we can only strive for fractional sassiness.

  3. LOL Mr. CPQ cracks me up. 😉
    I wish someone would get me and my hair.
    Just sayin’

  4. Ah…looks like you can leave your hair appointment and run (when your foot is better) where we do our long runs. From the Y down Strickland to the Chick Fil A (sometimes longer) and back down Strickland. Has to be the flattest side walk in all of Raleigh.

    Can’t wait to see the hair! It’s only Tues. so I trust you’ll post a picture before Sunday. Patience is not my strong suit! 🙂

  5. We need a picture of the sassy side of you : )

  6. I love it!!!!! (The sassy and the sad, that is). Too funny.

  7. That is some contraption! I’ve never…

  8. Can’t wait to see the new ‘do!

  9. My husband would have been so proud if I had come to bed with Strassburg. ;). Also, I need to see the hair.

  10. Can’t wait to see your hair. I also have plantar fasciitis that was caused from wearing expensive shoes, but the same kind every day. I got those orthotics for the insides of my shoes, but they really only work in running/walking shoes. I am on my feet most of the day and find that wearing a Dansko type shoe that has a thick sole front to back is the only thing I can spend that much time in and not have pain. Fortunately, they make cuter ones now that my husband doesn’t call Frankenstein shoes!!

  11. I’d rather be looking sassy on top any day. Besides, isn’t looking sassy on the bottom what got you into this predicament? 😉

  12. I attempted 3 times yesterday AM to tell you that I thought your hair looked really good… but what do I know?! When you don’t think your hair looks good, it doesn’t look good. I’m glad you found someone to take care of it & can’t wait to see a picture.
    I went to my guy here today & got a new look…. Wish he was closer!
    I’ll be anxious to hear if the sock works. Mine is doing okay now, but every now & then I get “twinges” like it’s coming back. And I haven’t worn cute shoes for 2 years!
    Mr. CPQ deserved your smack for his comment… but he does keep me laughing, too.
    Thanks for coming by to pick up the basil & even delivering for me! Hope you have a great week, & especially a great visit w/Mama!

  13. Hi, I don’t usually comment here but I love to read your blog. I have to chime in on the plantar fasciitis. I had that a couple of years ago. I probably suffered for almost a year. I tried the excercises and the shoe inserts with no results. Then I had to change doctors for an unrelated reason. The new doctor prescribed an anti-inflamatory drug for me. I had to take it for 3 months. My pain went away and hasn’t been back since. I really wish I had been presented that option earlier so I just thought I’d mention it to you.

  14. Ah, finding a good hair person is worth more than rubies.

  15. Ok obviously haven’t read in a while, craziness abounds in Texas BUT
    (AND THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT!)

    ON THE SUBJECT OF PLANTAR FASCITIIS — GO TO A CHIROPRACTOR! (I know, I know, sounds crazy, but trust your former roommate!)

    Mine fixed me in about 30 seconds — my pain before was about a 7.5 on a 10 scale and dropped to 2 immediately. Now I feel no pain…I sent my friend and she called me and told me that if she could see me she’d kiss me because she felt so much better!

Leave a Reply

