Ketchup/Catchup

1.  Shockingly, I haven’t given up on my running program.  Yesterday I completed Week 3, Day 2 of my Couch to 5K program with a lovely little jaunt about the greenway with Heather who effortlessly chatted while she ran and I didn’t want her to think I was a wimp so I sucked it up and persevered even though I was sure I’d left my lungs somewhere on the sidewalk.

2.  I think my canning phase is over, at least until next summer.

My eating toast phase, however, continues; I have enough peach jam to last through nuclear winter.

3.  We tried Chubby’s Taco’s last night for the first time and I can guarantee that it won’t be the last.

Oh.

My.

The tacos were as delicious as the ones at my Mexican grocery except without the sketchy salsa bar and the questionable health ratings.  I may or may not have been so enraptured that I walked back to the kitchen to offer my compliments to the line cooks.

Go, Raleigh friends, GO.

And if you want me to go with you, my calendar is open 🙂

4.  I’m on the hunt for a new coffee pot.  Ours died last night which meant that I had to go digging through the cabinet for the espresso machine that we bought when we got back from our honeymoon in Spain and have used approximately five times in fourteen years yet I can’t get rid of it because it reminds me of sipping espresso on the Plaza Mayor in Madrid.

Of course, the directions were nowhere near the machine and I haven’t used it since the last coffee pot broke three years ago so I quite possibly overfilled it  and spent most of the morning being EXTREMELY zippy/overly peppy because I drank the whole carafe by myself forgetting that it was not single serve.

5.  I don’t think I’ve ever written so random a list.

Have a nice day.

14 responses to “Ketchup/Catchup

  1. Chubby’s rocks! My hubby even has one of their t-shirts which he proudly wears when he’s trying to look his best. My tummy thinks that the carne asade tacos and the grilled tilapia tacos are the BEST!!!

  2. This is the most random post you’ve ever written? Really?? Wow. I am so very random all the time. I am tempted to label almost every one of posts as “random thoughts.”

  3. When the coffee pot is broken a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

  4. My husband loves Chubby’s! I guess I’m going to have to make him take me sometime soon. He usually goes at lunchtime because his work is much closer to there than our home is. :P. Also, when it comes to coffee there’s not much I wouldn’t do for that morning fix. no judgement from me! Drink up!

  5. Wow, good for you on the running!
    I wish we had fabulous Mexican food where I live. I don’t really know why we don’t-isn’t a love of Mexican food pretty much universal?? We have okay Mexican food. They do make excellent margaritas and serve fabulous warm chips with heavenly salsa which counts for something I suppose.

    Oh, and random is my love language so please, carry on.

  6. I sent you an email about a “free” coffee maker. I’ve loved mine & after the first shipment you can cancel if you want. However, their flavored coffees (all I ever get) are really good!
    Proud of you for sticking with the running!!!
    If/when I ever get back to Raleigh, I’d love to try Chubby’s with you!
    And if you need anyone to “help” you out on the peach jam… I’m your girl!! I so admire all the canning you do!

  7. BTW, I meant to send the rest of the marshmallows back w/G for the bonfire… but she forgot them. I know it will be so much fun & hate to miss it. You’ll have to let me know how the giant marshmallows work on the bonfire.

  8. I just recently broke my coffee carafe and it would cost almost as much to buy a new one as a whole new coffee maker costs. We did lots of internet research and then just randomly bought one at Kohl’s, which we found out had only a 2 star rating when we got home with it. I like the way it looks and I like that it has a stainless carafe and not a glass one that I can break. My only criteria is that it must be programmable because the coffee must be ready for me when I come downstairs each morning.
    We also have an espresso machine that was bought pre-children. I don’t think I could operate it now if I tried!
    I am not into those single serve coffee makers because I feel that’s a lot of trash in the landfill from all those little individual cups of ground coffee.
    My coffee purist friends swear by coffee presses. I looked at them in World Market, but I think I am too lazy for all that.
    Will put Chubby’s on my restaurant bucket list. Thanks for the recommendation.

  9. I love random. But I am wondering what it all had to do with Catsup?

  10. Random is good. Aren’t we all?
    Just sayin’

  11. I LOVE random 🙂
    and I think I should come to visit your Taco place . . . I’ll drive anywhere for good Mexican food 🙂

  12. I’m in for Chubby’s, but not for running. Good for you!!!

    Eager to hear a review about a new coffee maker. I want to put one on my Christmas list, but feel bad upgrading when mine still works fine.

  13. Love mexican, husband HATES cilantro. It’s a quandary, I know. However, we did get the best coffeemaker of all time for Christmas and being southern as well, it is my obligation to share. It’s a Cuisinart- 12 cup, programmable, with a stainless steel absolutely magnificent carafe that (I swear) keeps coffee steaming hot well past lunchtime. Not that I drink that much coffee. Anyway, I’ve never had anything like it. Pretty sure my mom got it at Kohl’s with those great little sales they send you in the mail. Have a blast!

  14. Nothing is lovelier than sipping espresso in Plaza Mayor. Maybe if a churro comes with it. Keep that old espresso machine and the memories!

Leave a Reply

