Thankful Thursday

I haven’t had my coffee yet this morning, it’s raining, it’s cold, I have mountains of laundry to do, and yet I’m thankful.

I couldn’t find my keys, JJ lost his shoes, we were late to school, who knows if the kids had enough lunch money, and still I’m thankful.

Thankful that I voted freely and without fear of Tuesday, unlike people in so many parts of the world.

Thankful that I have shelter from the rain, unlike thousands in Haiti.

Thankful that I have a furnace that works, unlike the 93-year-old widowed woman who called me this morning, desperate for help.

Thankful that I didn’t have to attend the funeral of my husband, unlike my friend Millie.

Though we almost had a funeral over the yard being torn up before the party.

Just keeping it real.

I’ve been reminded in a fresh way this week that we are God’s hands and feet to a hurting world whether it be through a phone call to a senior citizens program, a donation to a non-profit, or simply a hug and shared tears.

I’m thankful that He uses me.

How is He using you?

Have a nice day.

8 responses to “Thankful Thursday

  1. This morning I’m thankful that He uses me as “mom.” I had a day full of appointments, for both fun and work. All of it came to a halt when I got called to pick up a vomiting daughter from school a little while ago. Instead of being irritated, I feel thankful that I can be here for my kids, help serve them, and bring them home to a cozy warm home. I know it’s His best for me. 🙂
    Can I copy and do my own Thankful Thursday post??

  2. THANK you for the reminder. Needed it today. . . .

  3. I’m thankful that He uses you as well! I had my agenda for today and He has His agenda for me today. The day is not over, however I will soon close my eyes to sleep in preparation for working the night shift at a nursing home where oddly enough many don’t sleep during the night. I know that I can lean on Him for patience, wisdom, love and understanding as I serve the elderly. And I am very thankful that He serves through me when I remember that I am His and He is mine and they are His.
    Thanks for interrupting my day to remind me that this is His day. I paused in the midst of my busyness and was warmed by all the many things that He reminded me I am thankful for – very, very thankful. Now having a less busy and more thankful day!

  4. I am thankful that He is using me as a teacher who really cares about her students!!

    Great post.

  5. Great post, CPQ. Although I’m still learning how, He uses me to be a kind Christian in an often-unkind and unChristian business world.

  6. oh girl, I love this post 🙂 you know my answer I think 🙂

  7. I really needed to read this tonight. And I definitely needed to count my blessings.
    I too am thankful for the amazing freedoms and luxuries we enjoy, and for the family God placed me in at birth and the one He has given me as a wife and mother.
    I am thankful that God made/allowed me to home school my kids, even though I was really ready to quit this week.
    And I’m thankful my husband ministers to college students, who keep me young (except when they call me mom), and give me plenty of opportunities to show them love.

Leave a Reply

