Five on Friday

1.  I attempted to make pretzels yesterday.

Clearly, I didn’t master the twisting and twirling part.

As evidenced by the lack of holes after they proofed.

They were more like salted rolls with wavy tops.

My co-chefs ate them anyway.

2.  I’m thinking of taking up sewing if for no other reason than to make pajama pants that are long enough.

3.  I made these enchiladas this week and my people rose up and called me blessed.

And the best thing?  The recipe includes 2 cups of spinach and the kids  never even knew.

4.  If you hear a great hue and cry arise in the East, it’s because the Halloween candy gets thrown out tomorrow.

5.  I bought something from a door-to-door salesman.

I’m sympathetic to the plight of the door-to-door salesman because at the start of my dad’s working career, he went door to door for the Fuller Brush company.  The gentleman at my door was respectful, not pushy, clearly behind his product, and I admired the fact that he was out working on a cold, drizzly day so I bought what he was peddling.

This morning, I’m wishing I bought more.

Travis came home from school yesterday with rust and blood smeared all over his tan corduroy pants and I didn’t think I was going to be able to salvage them, but I sprayed this stuff on them and the stains immediately disappeared.

I’m sold forever.

Have a nice day.

10 responses to “Five on Friday

  1. Would you please make me some pajama pants while you’re at it. I’m tall and after one wash mine always look like gauchos–not cropped pants, mind you–gauchos! Uuuugly!

  2. I so admire your cooking… Mmm, warm from the oven pretzels dipped in mustard, yum!

  3. You know you gave me pause for thought re: door to door people. I must have had the same sales people come by our house. While I am not grumpy and mean (I just can never be mean like that – I just can’t..), I usually just say “no thank you”. I think I am more put off by the fact that they caught me in mis- matched sweats and the kids were still in p.j.’s mid-morning. Couldn’t help ourselves on that cold, rainy day. 🙂

  4. I say who cares what a fresh from the oven pretzel looks like!!
    Have a great weekend!

  5. I always just pretend my pjs were supposed to be capris. ha.

    but enchiladas and homemade “pretzels” (without holes) sound amazing!!!!

  6. Did you roast the peppers and everything? Wow!
    And I think we bought some of that stuff once. Does it clean everything? We used it for a year, but I missed the smell of amonia and lemon letting me know I had cleaned, so we quit.
    You have a nice day, too.

  7. Ditto on the Dirt Buster! I think the guy left me a card to contact him for more. . . somewhere. . . maybe he’ll show up again next year before I need more?

  8. I used to love Fuller Brush. My mom bought all our hairbrushes from him and I have been trying to find a duplicate in drug stores across the country.

    rust and blood? that’s some crazy recess happening at your kids school : )

  9. I bought some cleaning liquid from a door-to-door salesman about 28 yrs. ago, & after he left, I thought, “Am I crazy or what? Letting a strange man in, then buying something this expensive, blah, blah, blah..” I used every bit of it (I think I had to buy something like 10 bottles to get a “deal”). Then about 12 yrs. ago another guy came by: different company but same kind of stuff & he demonstrated how well it worked. I bought a case of it (you water it down greatly in a mix) & still have some but it’s great stuff. I don’t clean everything w/it like they say you can (smelling the bleach in my bathroom right now….!) But you can use it on anything including carpet/rugs, it takes out everything, & mine is one that is so non-toxic you could drink it (I wouldn’t recommend it, but he took a sip to show me, & if you have little ones around, it’s safe to leave this under the sink.) So I totally get it!

  10. Let’s make pj bottoms together! I’d lurve to learn. Believe it or not, I’m only 5’6″, but high waIsted,so theyre typically too short on me, too. We could text pictures…

    Pretzels look great to me.

Leave a Reply

