Monday Musings

We left Thanksgiving morning to head to the mountains to be with family, but not before getting in a training run with Heather at 0:dark thirty.

My mood lightened tremendously when Heather popped out of her car wearing her blaze orange running shoes, which turned out to be helpful beacons as we navigated our way through the wooded, pitch-black trail.

And her bare legs and running skirt on a frigid morning meant we ran FAST.

We made it to the mountains by 1:00 and started meal preparations and sat down to a delicious dinner with slightly brown dinner rolls because someone forgot that bread rises and bakes faster at altitude.

Oops.

I would show pictures of the laden table but I was too busy filling my plate with stuffing and squash casserole to whip out the camera.  I do, however, have pictures of the aftermath.

The rest of the weekend was spent watching football, football, and more football (my sports-crazy father-in-law) and working puzzles (my sister-in-law and Mr. CPQ) and knitting (me, who neither watches football well, puzzles well or knits well, judging by the oversized rastafarian beanie I created).

We did venture out on Friday to go see Tangled at the little movie theater in town.

Then we traipsed back to the house and had a birthday party for my niece which is my one chance a year to give girly things, and I’m sure my sister-in-law won’t at all be unhappy with the Barbie blow dryer that blows real glitter all over the place.

And a good time was had by all.

Have a nice day.

 

 

9 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. Glitter is a naughty word in our house : ) She’s a cutie though.
    I love the after picture!

  2. Sounds like a perfect Thanksgiving!

  3. Glitter is a terrible, wonderful thing. And you can borrow Jayci anytime you need more girl-time 🙂

  4. I love being “that” aunt!!

    Glad you had a wonderful time.

  5. What a fun celebration! Love the after picture…looks strangely familiar 😉

    Isn’t Heather just the cutest runner-girl??

  6. We saw Tangled & thought it was really cute!

    Glitter = awesome!

  7. Careful, your sister-in-law will master the phrase “That’s a Auntie’s House Toy”…….just like I mastered “That’s a Grandma’s House Toy” ….and the suddenly the truly annoying toys cease to be purchased.
    😉

  8. I was SO proud of our guys over Thanksgiving: they hardly watched ANY football! I got a little “persnickity” when someone tried to take the remote while I was watching the parade… The Macy’s parade & the Rose Bowl parade are the two times a year when I REALLY want to watch what I want to watch!
    We played cards every night & did lots of hiking, eating, talking, laughing, & just plain fun w/the new, adored aunt.

  9. Sounds like a good time was had by all.

    We’re taking our “only child” to see Tangled tonight. I’ve heard it’s really cute!

Leave a Reply

