Tuesday Tidbits

I had a physical this morning as part of renewing my life insurance policy which meant that I couldn’t eat after midnight last night since I had to be fasting for my blood work.

Ranger Rick Safety Tip:  Never schedule a physical the week after Thanksgiving.  Or for the day after you go to Trader Joe’s and they have their double creme brie on sale.

I was less concerned about the no food thing than I was about the NO COFFEE thing because drinking my quart cup of coffee is the first thing I do every morning as it keeps the children alive, but I did my best to hold it together until my appointment and I was SOOO draggy that my blood pressure only read 90 over 58 though once I stepped on the scales, I’m sure it went through the roof.

After I was poked and prodded, they sent me on my merry way which happened to go right by Bruegger’s Bagels and I stopped in to grab something to take to work and I really wanted to say “Egg, cheese and bacon bagel” but I’m trying to be sensible since I have three Christmas parties coming up in the next few weeks and I begrudgingly said “whole wheat bagel with light cream cheese” but when I got to the office where I still have no desk and took a bite, I discovered they’d schmeared it with herb spread instead of plain cream cheese and that was eighteen kinds of wrong and it sent me on a path of eating a jillion different things trying to get the herb taste out of my mouth.

I was so preoccupied about the bagel that when I went to the file room to put some records aways, I forgot the security code and didn’t know that if you kept punching in the wrong codes, it eventually freezes the whole system whereby no one can get in AND alerts Corporate Security that someone’s trying to break into the room.

Oops.

And then I came home and decided that I’d wipe the slate clean by going out for a run and came home and may or may not have sustained a shoulder injury trying to wiggle out of my compression bra undergarments.

People, it’s been a day.

I need a do-over.

And coffee first thing in the morning.

Have a nice day.

8 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. Oh my, bless your heart! Wouldn’t have changed places with you for anything. I went to the doctor about 3 months ago to get my blood pressure meds renewed and got my prescription to have blood work done to check my potassium level and cholesterol (my stupid idea) and I’ve had that blood work prescription sitting on my desk ever since then because I’ve been trying to figure out the perfect time to go have it done. I’d need to go at least 3 days without fatty foods and that hasn’t happened at all in these past months. I don’t see it happening in the near future either. So I continue to live in ignorant bliss!

    I would have totally went “bleh” with the herb cream cheese too. So sorry for you… I enjoyed my blueberry bagel with reduced fat cream cheese this morning. …Thus no blood work anytime soon…

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who has sustained an injury from either putting on or taking off the jogging bra.
    Blech. And ouch.

  3. I am in 100% agreement with you on the coffee first thing. I can wait all day to eat but don’t get between me and my first cup of coffee.

  4. I’m sure you enjoyed your first cup of ‘get me up and going’ this morning!
    Blessings!

  5. Wonder if it’s hard for me to wriggle out of their man spanx. 😉

  6. I wonder what kind of google searches for man spanx/spanks will land people here?

  7. Oh HONey. No coffee for the morning. That right there is reason for a do-over on the day. It sounds like in the days since you are all decorated and eggnogged up, so things should be looking up. Are you still on your homemade bread kick? Any other good baking going on at your house? Any good recipes to share? 😉 Not that I’m a glutton or anything. Although I made some chocolate-macadamia nut bread yesterday with Kahlua butter (yes, Kahlua butter!!). The bread was nothing special, but boy oh boy I could eat that butter straight from its little pot, yes I could. OK, done blathering now. Really.

  8. Excellent blood pressure, young lady…looks like your running makes your heart happy.

Leave a Reply

