Oh, it’s Wednesday. Let’s make a list.

1. This jungle girl doesn’t do cold and it’s been cold all week.  I have wanted to burrow under the covers every single morning but those pesky young ‘uns keep wanting to be fed so I’ve had to drag myself from between the flannel sheets and brave the elements in a less than perky manner.

Go ahead, friends from Wisconsin, North Dakota, and Canada, mock me.

2.  I was looking for creative ways to keep the house warm so I made this toffee recipe because one step in the instructions said “Boil to 298 degrees”.

This version was topped with toasted pecans, but I had a teeny bit of toffee left in the pan so I made a couple of pieces topped with sea salt.

I now wish I’d made the whole batch that way.

3.  After the toffee-making, I was still cold so I oven-baked my microwavable frozen dinner at 400 degrees for an hour.

4.  The electric bill doesn’t come until January.  I’ll worry about it then.

5.  I still haven’t mailed Christmas presents to my family in Oklahoma, so wrapping, boxing, and braving the lines at the post office are all on my agenda today. I will attempt to do it without succumbing to hypothermia.

Stay toasty, my friends.

Have a nice day.

10 responses to “Oh, it’s Wednesday. Let’s make a list.

  1. truly? sea salt is best? I’m not doubting you, just confirming because I have a recipe calling for nuts but salty/sweet is pretty much my favorite food group so I’d like to try the salt.

  2. It is so cold. My furnace is turned up too. And I think I will make toffee bars with sea salt tomorrow. Thanks for the idea! I bought Gloria Jean’s butter toffee coffee—yum!! These will go nicely together I am sure.

  3. Well I was complaining that the “winter” here is CA produced a week of 80 degree temps and then WHAM it is 50 and rainy here and will be for the next week or so. To heck with carbon monoxide I am grilling inside tonight!!

  4. I want to try the toffee…and I wish we could trade places. It’s almost 75 degrees here…

  5. Girl, you should really use the ‘mr. postman, please walk up to my front door and get this package because it’s too cold to leave my house’ option.

    I totally forgot about it until my wonderful sister reminded me today…which totally changed my plans.

    Toffee with salt…yummo!

  6. Mmmmm…toffee. I made some last week that was a DISASTER. What’s your secret?

  7. I love toffee!!! I may have to try to squeeze this into the agenda….

  8. BTW, I’m with you on the COLD weather!!! Brrrr…..

  9. I feel your pain! I was born in semi-arid south India and now spend my time freezing in the UK as a poor student. These are a few of my favourite things: Microwavable slippers. Fluffy dressing down. Sleeping cat. Cup of tea. I can stay that way all evening before getting to dive under my duvet. 🙂

  10. Sipping hot tea under a down throw in front of the fireplace is how I roll all winter long.

Leave a Reply

