Monday Musings

We had a good weekend.  We had a little New Year’s Eve party at a friend’s house and then scurried home to watch the ball drop with the kids.  I regretted telling them they could stay up because after several weeks of going to bed late, I was ready to get back on schedule but a promise is a promise and so we ate junk food, sang along with Mr. CPQ’s new karaoke machine, counted down VERY LOUDLY, toasted with flat ginger ale, and all got in bed approximately thirty seconds after the ball dropped.

Saturday morning I drove to Virginia to surprise ImNotNed’s wife (and one of my dearest friends) for her 40th a significant birthday and it was so much fun to pop out from behind the car, see the look on her face, and hug her neck.  We may have even shed a tear or two and then we promptly went inside and did what we always do whenever we’re together, opened up the potato chips and French onion dip and snacked with wild abandon while we caught up.

It was a very girly weekend.  We hit the makeup counter at Lord & Taylor, shopped for shoes, browsed the purse section in every major department store, got pedicures and manicures, and then we went home and ate Ben & Jerry’s straight out of the carton.  People, it was bliss and the time passed altogether too quickly.

Yes, I bought the shoes.

K made me to do it.

I had four hours of quiet on the ride back home this morning to think about New Year’s resolutions, and while I’d love to issue forth a grand pronouncement about what this year will hold, I don’t have anything set in stone just yet.

As evidenced by the fact that I was licking salt off my fingers at 11:32 from an ill-advised stop at a sketchy Wendy’s.

I guess this won’t be the year of “No French Fries” after all.

More so than resolutions, I think this year I’m going to go with goals.  Typically I’ll pick a spiritual, physical, and mental goal and right now I’m percolating over the following:

1) Daily quiet time of purposeful prayer and reading. (It doesn’t always happen and I need to make this a priority.)

2) Running a half marathon.

3) Learning to quilt.

I’m sure I’ll be adding to the list, but for now, that’s what I’m working on.  I hope your New Year is full of many wonderful adventures.

Have a nice day.

12 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. 1. No year should ever be the year of “no French fries!” Period.
    2. L.O.V.E. those shoes. I got some cute ones on clearance recently that I’ll have to post soon.
    3. You have the coolest friendships. I envy that kind of friendship.

  2. Kickin’ shoes!

    I agree with Andrea..you have the coolest friendships.

    French fries belong in everyone’s emergency kit. You cannot ‘resolutionize’ them. You.just.can’t.

    I’m with you on the quiet times. Got very, very convicted with yesterday’s sermon.

    I’m envious of the 1/2 marathon goal…but not so much that I can’t cheer you on! GO CPQ GO!

  3. ooh la la…love love love the shoes!!

  4. Holy Cow…a HALF MARATHON?!?!? Wow baby steps must not be in your vocabulary!!!
    Well, you go girl.

  5. LOVE the shoes.

    So happy that you got a weekend with a good friend!

  6. Love the shoes!

    And your resolutions rock!

    Jesus and running…

    Great combo! 🙂 Woo hoo for the half!!!!!

    And quilting is the one crafty thing that I have actually done with some degree of success. Can’t wait to see what you cook up this year!

    Here’s to 2011!

  7. Meow! on the shoes.
    And I’ve been wanting to discuss the Wendy’s fries with someone…. The sea salt?? Not sure if I’m a fan or not…. What say you?

  8. Wowzas on the shoes! I can’t imagine wearing shoes with heels. I’m so clumsy, I’d probably fall over and break something!

    Yay for the 1/2!! My goal for this year is to run another 1/2 and to stay in shape enough that I can do more. It’s a really great distance: a definite stretch, but not impossible.

    I got a new quilt book from Santa. I’ll share…

    And QT. Always a need for accountability with that one. Ask me how mine is going in 2 weeks, K?

  9. OMG–I need to move closer so I can borrow those shoes! To DIE FOR! Not that I’m coveting, you understand. 🙂

    What a lurvely present for K and for you, I’d imagine. Yay for you and the running! I’ll live vicariously thru you, since my hips have retired.

    Come see me, and we’ll have your first quilt made in a weekend. And we might to other stuff, too. We have bags, makeup and shoes here, too.

  10. Surprise, surprise, look what notned and CPQ cooked up for me. I am honored to call you my friend and girl-vices-partner-in-crime. It’s was a fantastic entrance into my forties!

  11. What, no shot of the shoes you didn’t buy? I guess folks will have to head over to our blog to see them.

    And thanks again. I owe you guys one.

  12. great shoes!
    Yay for quilting! I really, really enjoy it. The quiet hum of the machine, the alone time, and something beautiful to show for when its done!

Leave a Reply

