Monday Musings

It was sort of a dreary weekend around the house.  Mr. CPQ came back into town on Friday from a business trip and brought a nasty upper respiratory infection with him that pretty much knocked him flat on his back for the better part of three days.

Which means that for the better part of three days there’s been a lot of sighing, aimless wandering, and bemoaning the crackheads who have rendered modern decongestants ineffective.

But enough about me.

The boys had Saturday school to make up for the ice day earlier in the week so I convinced my husband that a date with me, orange juice and blueberry muffins from Mimi’s Cafe would make him feel better.  He perked up enough to go with me to wander Costco and while we were there, he was lured by the siren song of the Vita-Mix demonstration lady.

He’s been wanting a mack-daddy blender for a long time and since we had to return his karaoke machine because it didn’t work right, he had some store credit to work with and all it took was a well-timed “I think you should get this for yourself” and it came home with us.

Along with $834,387,267 worth of produce to blend in the thing.

We’ve been making non-stop smoothies and milkshakes in the house and last night I made AND HEATED black bean soup in the blender jar in 4 minutes flat.

Recipe:

2 cans black beans, drained

1 can Rotel

2-3 cups of chicken stock

chili powder, cumin, salt, garlic powder to taste

Blend for 4 minutes.

At 240 m.p.h.

Then today for lunch, I made my first green smoothie with kale, an apple, and some frozen raspberries.

Please ignore the processed, canned soup in the background.

Ahem.

It was delicious and apple-y and tart and you would never know there were 8 grams of fiber and 1000% of my daily allowance of Vitamin K lurking in the glass.

Though clearly it looks like something is lurking in there.

Have a nice day.

13 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. That is fantastic. I think I should put this on my wish list. And really… the brown kale smoothy was good? Really???

  2. All I’m saying is watch your thumbs.

  3. My children are always drawn to this demonstration at Costco.

  4. Ahh-the color! But blending stuff is always fun : ) My fabulous Breville juicer has not been right ever since I juiced something with the instruction book inside.

  5. Really? You made soup? In a blender?
    That’s pure genious.

  6. Hmmm. Looks just a little too healthy for me.
    Just sayin’

  7. I have been wanting a Vita Mix!!! My MIL has one and I LOVE when she makes me yummy stuff. She has a tortilla soup recipe and it is yum.

  8. Cool new gadgets are so inspirational! Hope everyone is well now–with all the juicing and smoothies, who wouldn’t be? I know what you mean about modern decongestants…(sniff, sigh, cough). But if you’re ever in need real sudafed (pseudophedrine), you should ask for it at the pharmacy counter. Stores still sell it, but they have to monitor the sales–I think by checking your driver’s license.

  9. Trying not to gag at the last picture in support of you getting your brown, er…I mean green veggies. I am jealous, though, because I lurve me some smoothies, and my blender just doesn’t rock it like it should. Good for you on the healthy living, Sus.

    Seattle is a healthy place to live. Just in case you’re selling your house or whatever.

  10. Finally, I can come out of the juicing closet…I don’t have a veg-o-matic…but I DO have a Champion Industrial juicer…which i have used secretly for a very long time. I didn’t want to sound “granola-y” or anything. You can’t know how good it feels to know you are a “granola” too…oh! but I draw the line at Birkenstocks. I’m just sayin’.

  11. cool. Unfortunately blenders and I don’t get along so well. Last time I used one, I was making jam. I forgot to stop stirring before I turned the thing on. So strawberries went everywhere, and I shredded a wooden spoon into my fruit. 😦 Then I knocked over 3 canning jars and broke them all over the florr. 😦 I’ll drool over your pics instead!

  12. I love making soup so SO much. I have an awesome flask so it’s still hot at lunchtime. Eaten with a crunchy roll, nothing else hits the spot when it’s a rubbish rainy day.

    (Rainy day =”from September to May” where I live)

Leave a Reply

