Tuesday Tidbits

1.  My children practiced the art of hospitality yesterday.  A friend of mine was driving by the house and decided to pop in for a quick visit.  The boys saw her car and ran out to greet her and told her to go on inside and that she would find me in the back of the house.

So she did.

And she found me.

In my bedroom.

Taking a nap.

Scared the living bejeebers out of me.

2.  I’m back on the meal planning wagon.  I took inventory of the freezer and pantry supplies and I’ve easily got a month’s worth of meals stashed away.  Other than milk, eggs, bread, and produce, I’m going to try to avoid a major grocery run for the next four weeks.

Another plus?  Less to pack and move when we sell this house.

Which we haven’t yet.

Because it takes us a sweet forever to get around to doing things.

Hello, unfinished quilt.

3.  Today’s purple smoothie was brought to you by green grapes, frozen strawberries, and red cabbage.  It was delicious.

4.  If you’ve tried calling to discuss my current smoothie fixation, you might have gotten a constant ring when you dialed our number.  Our house phone went out three days ago and we’re considering not getting it fixed and just switching to cell phones.

If you are an IRL friend, please call my cell phone if you need to chat (and email me if you need the number).

5.  After four failed attempts at crocheting rows that contain an equal number of stitches, I ditched the hook and picked up my faithful knitting needles and started a new project last night.

They’re wrist warmers which will keep my hands toasty and accessorized and hopefully the cheerful orange and yellow will lift my spirits while I wait for this interminable winter to end.

Plus I don’t have to worry about fiddling with knitting fingers.

And they’ll still allow me to text.

Priorities, people.

Have a nice day.

12 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. #1 cracked me up!! : ) Good luck selling your house. We just listed ours this weekend and now we wait… : )

  2. Texting fingers. Always a priority.

  3. You go girl on the meal planning! It’s on my list..way down on my list, but it is there.

    I’m always craving juice when I read your blog…I’ll add that to my meal planning schedule.

  4. At least your friend didn’t find you in a towel having just gotten out of the shower. That would be really embarrassing. Don’t ask me how I know that.

  5. My mother-in-law gave me the best wrist warmers for Christmas. I L-O-V-E them!! I also love that you start a thousand new projects before finishing the previous ones. I am so like that.

  6. at least you were only napping : )

  7. I could just SEE your boys “practicing hospitality”…! Made me laugh aloud thinking about someone walking in on you like that!!
    The wrist warmers are too cool (or I mean, warm…) I love the colors because it reminds me of spring/summer!
    I bought kale & apples today (already have the raspberries), so I’m ready to try some wonder-juice!

  8. I am not too sure about the cabbage in a smoothie. Was it really good?
    Hang in there with the house being on the market. Praying for you. At least it wasn’t a realtor the boys let in while you were napping. Can you imagine?

  9. I love the colors of the wrist warmers. Makes me happy!

  10. Love picturing your boys and you napping with that surprise. Just the other day I was working one of my kids and Brian calls to tell me someone is dropping off a meal for us. My reaction: “You mean right this second!!??” Had to run up and get out of some unmatched/ripped jogging pants and get more presentable just to answer the door. Yikes! Glad for the 1 minute warning, but I’m thankful the Lord gives you such happenings so you can blog about them. 🙂

  11. I am knitting an afghan (that totally sounds like I am torturing at Guantanamo Bay)…I am thinking the wrist warmers might be a better choice.

  12. I made some of those. Not as good as the picture, though. Just sayin’. I may be a crochet convert. Why? Because I am impatient, and crocheting is faster. Unless you can’t count (like me). But I can’t count in knitting, either.

Leave a Reply

