Knock, Knock…is this thing on?

I’m giving myself 10 minutes to post this morning.  It’s been one of those weeks where my feet have hit the ground running in my orthotic shoes and I haven’t stopped until bedtime.  Everything is fine, but it’s just one of those weeks that’s crammed with appointments and then I had to throw in a couple of unexpected tasks like spend four nerve-wracking hours yesterday trying to get emergency backup sitters for the kids this weekend while Mr. CPQ and I are out of the country because at 8:30 my MIL called to say they might not be able to make it.

Fun times.

I started going down the list of sitters, neighbors, and friends and had my parents on stand-by in Oklahoma to drop everything and fly out for the $2,000 last resort option when my in-laws called back to let us know they were back in the game and you cannot imagine the relief I felt to not have to stress about farming out the kids in six-hour increments to five or six different people over the weekend.

Note to self: Have back-up plan cemented well in advance next year.

Today is laundry, cleaning, and packing.  I wasn’t planning on dressing any more formally than shorts and flip-flops, but I did find these pants at J. Jill earlier in the week that I thought were cute and resort-like, and they’re going straight from the shopping bag into my suitcase.

 

 

And yes, I got the “Capris?” and the scrunched up nose from Mr. CPQ.

And yes, I smacked him.

Have a nice day.

14 responses to “Knock, Knock…is this thing on?

  1. Have a fabulous time!

  2. Love the capris! J. Jill is the best!

    Have a great trip. Glad all of the details finally came together! 🙂

  3. Why don’t men understand capris? Have fun!!

  4. You will look fab in those capris.

    And don’t knock orthotics in the shoes…been wearing them for nearly 10 years.

    Also, I think your job is interfering with your REAL job: blogging.

    That’s a back-handed way of saying: I miss you.

    Have a great time!

  5. I missed something… where are you going?

  6. That’s OK…Mr. CPQ just wants to see a little more leg 🙂

    HAVE FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Love the pants and I can so commiserate with the lovely activity of trying to find shifts for your kids to stay with a dozen different people over four days. We’ve done that and it’s no fun. I’m always relieved when I get home and find that they somehow made it from house to house and back to me. So it’s good that your in-laws are going to make it after all.

    Have a great time on your island getaway!

  8. OK, now to practice what I preached last night (10th commandment) and not be green with envy, Guess I’ll just be happy with 75 degree Oklahoma this weekend 🙂
    HAVE FUN!

  9. Any pictures of your face when your in-laws said they might not be able to make it?

  10. Love the swingy legs of these capris’s (sp?)…my mom would call them gauchos, which makes the marketing departments cringe…call them what you want, I love them.

  11. I like those capris 🙂 i think they’re cute (too bad I’m not fashionable so my opinion doesnt mean that much!) 🙂

  12. My resident grammarian pointed out my extraneous apostrophe s on capris. Duly noted.

  13. LUV the capris!!! I’m so glad your original plans worked out… yikes, can’t imagine what you must have thought when you got the “maybe we can’t” news…!! Hope you have a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

