The sun’s so hot, I forgot to go home

I’ve been humming a little James Taylor today and trying to imagine a happy place of warm sand and sunshine as I’ve navigated through rush hour traffic, waded through a backlog of emails and tried to re-introduce the boys to “Mom’s Rules” after they’ve been spoiled by their grandparents for the last four days.

I think I was missed a little bit by JJ who informed me that his grandmother did NOT know how to wake him up happily like I did.

I have a lot to talk about (which I’ll split up over a few posts) but I wanted to put up a few pictures of our resort.   The hotel was Dreams in Puerto Vallarta and it was, uh, dreamy. The property was located about five minutes south of town and had its own secluded private beach with a beautiful view of Banderas Bay.

The rooms were tastefully decorated in dark woods and Mexican art and beautiful tile work.


Why, yes, that would be a jacuzzi on the balcony.

The rooms had all the amenities you could ask for, but my favorite by far was the mini-bar chock full of real sugar Mexican Coke.

The food?  Did you ask about the food?

Oh.

My.

Word.

Divine.

I’ve always said that I could eat Mexican food every day of the week and I’m happy to report that after four solid days of tortillas, tamales, and tacos, my love for corn products remains strong.

We drank hot chocolate, ate churros, bunuelos, huaraches, tostadas, flautas, quesadillas, chilaquiles, and guacamole for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and flan and fresh fruit for dessert.

At every meal.

Ahem.

It’ll be six weeks before I can comfortably button my work clothes.

But totally worth it.

Oh, and Taco Bell?

You’re dead to me.

More tomorrow….

Have a nice day.

 

12 responses to “The sun’s so hot, I forgot to go home

  1. Yay! Welcome back. You were missed virtually AND IRL.

  2. Welcome back! I’m still jealous! We had 8 inches of snow on Sunday evening.

  3. Nice! This is definitely not the Mexico I keep hearing Bill O’Reilly talk about.

  4. Welcome back! Look at your flip flop tan and relive the sunny days.

  5. What a beautiful place! Glad y’all had such a great time. I could really go for that hot tub on the balcony, looking at the bay…!!!!!

  6. Mexican food for every meal? Yes, please.

  7. You had me at guacamole…

    Glad you are back…

  8. Wow wow wow, looks lush 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about your trip. I can’t get away until September so I need to live vicariously through others right now.

  9. What a great trip! Glad that you had fun.

    Good luck with getting back into real life with the kiddos! 🙂

  10. Wonderful! So glad you had a well-deserved vaca. But I beg to differ with you, my friend. As soon as the memories fade a bit, you’ll be right behind me at the Taco Bell drive-thru.

  11. Rachel Treichler

    Looks so beautiful and so yummy! T minus 30 days till we’ll be sitting on a tropical beach. Although we’ll have our kids in tow. Oh well, that’s ok. Glad you had a great time! 🙂

  12. I’ve been following your pics on facebook and wondering why I never take pictures of food. I really should. We has some WONDERFUL things while in Disney. Rick wants to go back for the kids. I want to go back just the two of us for a foodie tour. I don’t need the characters and I’m sure I could find some culinary gems among the hundreds of restaurants down there. Fortunately, we tried a few of them. Yum!

Leave a Reply

