Monday Musings

1.  I find it amusing that my husband can agonize over spending $0.89 vs. $0.99 for a can of kidney beans, yet feels no qualms about potentially buying two cars and a house over the course of the next three months.

I, on the other hand, am freaking out, having anxiety dreams and frequently wake up in the middle of the night wondering if I’m too old to move in with my mother.

2. I  woke up Saturday morning, strolled in the kitchen, wordlessly consumed the usual cup or six of coffee while my husband read me the important news of the day, and after an hour of quiet, peaceful communion, he asked what was on my agenda for the day and I said, “I don’t have anything planned.”

Except that as I walked over to the fridge to return the half and half, I noticed the calendar.

And noticed that I had something written in Saturday’s block.

And noticed that I had just missed an event that I had known about and planned on attending since last AUGUST.

Argh.

3.  Speaking of last August, we went back to look at a house that we’ve had our eye on since last summer.  We are inches closer to making an offer on it.  I know our friends that live across the street from that house wish we’d JUST GET ON WITH IT ALREADY since they’re tired of parking junky cars on blocks out in their driveway to scare off other potential buyers until we’re ready to pull the trigger.

Oh, I kid.

Sort of.

4.  I am NOT kidding that Mr. CPQ found a package of pork sausage in the trunk of his car twenty-four hours after a trip to the grocery store and he tried to assure me that it was cool in the garage and that it was perfectly fine to eat.

I gave him $5 and threw it away.

5.  I look forward to having fewer balls to juggle after we get past this move.

Have a nice day.

PS – Our track-out trip is going to be Philadelphia.  If any blog peeps live near there, I’d love to have recommendations for things to see and do in the area.

9 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. I’m grew up in a suburb of Phila. and have family there…it’s a great city! I’ll think on it but –

    a. Have a cheese steak
    b. Franklin Institute-it’s awesome!
    c. you can tour the Mint which is fun but check the hours ahead of time for sure
    d. obviously the whole Independence Hall thing
    e. Art museum-you must at least run up the steps and take a Rocky-esque picture
    f. Penn’s Landing…ships, shops, restaurants-Independence Seaport museum is here
    g.-Phila. has a fabulous zoo
    h. have another cheese steak

    Will you venture out to the surrounding area? When are you going?

  2. I second everything that Joyce said! You also need to go to Betsy Ross’s House, Ben Franklin’s house and throw a penny on Franklin’s grave. If you are willing to go a little north of the city, Bucks County, where we lived for a couple of years is GOR.GE.OUS. Go up to Easton to the Crayola Factory. It’s one of my kid’s favorite places!

    And definitely, have a cheesesteak! (Just don’t call it a PHILLY cheesesteak-people will make fun of you!)

  3. Your hausband and the meat issues…too funny!

  4. husband. I am not German.

  5. I’m not German. I meant husband.

  6. please delete my 3rd comment…I dont know whats wrong with me today. ha!!

  7. okay, last one to read… you know jenster lives right near philly, right?

  8. You should just go ahead a buy the house that you want. Because by the time you guys pull the trigger on the house, you’ll be ready to move MrCPQ into a retirement community.

  9. Maybe if you fill the house you want with day-old meat, Mr. CPQ will jump to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

