Monday Musings

1. We got home late yesterday afternoon to a balmy 51 degrees in the house.  We’d not looked at the long-range forecast that included snow and sleet for the area before we headed out of town and thus had left the heater off.

Oops.

Fortunately, we didn’t come home to a kitty popsicle.

2.  My stomach did a little flip when I pulled into our driveway and saw the “COMING SOON!” real estate sign stuck in the front yard.  There is an unbelievable amount of work that needs to be done before Friday and yet here I sit typing on the computer and eating comfort cookies and I almost don’t know where to begin.

I’ll probably start by grabbing big black garbage bags and donning an unsentimental spirit.

3.  I have some fun pictures from my trip last week that I’d love to blog about but may not have time, so I’m just going to upload them so my mom can see her grandkids and hopefully I can add some text later.

 

Outside the US Mint where I used to work

Tossing pennies on Ben Franklin's grave

Or letting Mom toss the pennies while I sip my Pepsi in my US Mint souvie cup

Hanging out with our shortest president, Mr. Madison

First bite of cheesesteak - Thumbs up for Spataro's in the Reading Terminal Market

Our cheesesteak maker. Scary.

Can't. Hold. On. Much. Longer.

The back of the Liberty Bell. Because the front always gets the glory and I felt bad that no one talks about the other side.

Self portrait of our-soaking-wet-selves in Independence Hall

The tour guide who wouldn't move so I could get a picture of the table behind him where they signed the Declaration of Independence

My artsy picture of the Ben Franklin Bridge taken while driving and praying that on the other side I would wind up in the right lane to get to where I needed to be.

One of the eight bajillion toll booths I went through

 

4.  I also made a stop in Northern Virginia to visit NotNed and Momologuer.  Hooray for NotNed who remembered to take pictures and blog about that day!

I was too busy Facetiming with Momologuer while sitting next to her on the couch.

I love technology.

5.  Anyone wanna’ come help me pack?

Have a nice day.

10 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. Let’s query the Magic 8-Ball.

    Help pack? Outlook not so good.

    Help unpack? Signs point to yes.

  2. I’d come help you pack in a heartbeat if I could!!! Many blessings along your way to selling the house and praying that it goes quickly!! 🙂

  3. I know that real estate stress! We’ve had our house on the market since December, and now we’ve got an offer and have made an offer and may be moving in, like 2-3 weeks, and I didn’t MEAN I wanted to move that quickly ’cause I’m still homeschooling and about to leave for New Orleans and then Slovenia and I don’t know when or how we will pack and…deep breath…in…out…in…out…
    And was that a Between the Lions Cliffhanger reference! Haha! 🙂

  4. Glad you had a good trip! 🙂 loved seeing some pictures!

  5. You have inspired me to take the kids on a road trip. Oh, and to eat more chocolate, too.

  6. Three cheers for making another road trip memory and living to tell about it. 🙂
    That security guard made me think of Mall Cop movie. Just sayin’

  7. I don that unsentimental spirit quite a bit, so much that my kids will surely hate me when they are in their 30’s.

  8. Thanks for the pictures…I feel like I’ve just had a visit from my beloved grandsons and their mom!

  9. I’ll come help you pack! Just give me a call as to the time & day (this week), seriously!

  10. The backside of the bell.

    reasons I love Sus #7932

Leave a Reply

