In which I update

The house was listed last Friday approximately six seconds after we came back from Home Depot with the correct length of baseboard.

And Mr. CPQ would want me to say that he’s all that and a bag of chips for cutting the mitered corners exactly as they should be.

And because he pays for my hair coloring, I’m happy to share that critical piece of information with you today.

We had three showings over the weekend, which meant basically that I didn’t let the children do a single thing in the house for 72 hours and, man, is it ever going to be expensive getting this house sold because I refuse to dirty up such a clean kitchen.

The last couple that saw the house is/are interested in it and has/have submitted a bunch of questions, so I’m hopeful they’ll make an offer.  The kids are really hoping for an offer, too, because they’ve never made their beds this many mornings in a row and as Tommy said, “This is really getting old.”

The boys started back to school this week and I went back to the office for the first time in a month.  I felt like I needed to re-introduce myself to my co-workers but once I saw my in-box, I realized they hadn’t forgotten I was gone.

I’ve also started working in earnest on the conference that’s happening at the end of the month.  It’s consuming quite a bit of my time, so I’ve had to put some fun stuff on hold for a while until I can get past it. I can’t believe that something we started planning over a year ago is finally coming to fruition.

Speaking of absolutely nothing related to fruition, the boys announced the other day that they’re planning on entering the talent show at school and I immediately broke out in hives mainly because talent shows have been my nemesis from an early age because I have never figured out how to turn a knack for carbo-loading into a stage-worthy production.

And with that, I’m wrapping up this blog post but I would ask you to insert something appropriate and witty in this here paragraph because I’ve sat looking at the screen for fifteen minutes and nothing seems to fit.

Have a nice day.

 

10 responses to “In which I update

  1. Praying you get a quick sale…that trying to keep the house from looking like anyone lives there is for the birds!

  2. I have a fear of talent shows as well. How do you showcase snarkiness in a positive way? It’s a problem my son is facing as well this week. Talent show auditions are Friday and so far he has three magic tricks and a boatload of sarcasm. Go team!

  3. Three showings?? How cool is that?!
    Thank you for all your hard work with the conference…you are storing up those treasures in heaven!

    And..find the video camera, because I would love to see your children in a talent show. 😀

  4. Keeping the house “show” ready does get easier…I should know after 16 months of it! 🙂 Interest this early in the game is a great thing. Stay positive.
    Thank you too for all of your hard work for WWD. I had so much fun being a part of that great team and so wish that I was there to see it all come together for you. It will be so worth it!!

  5. I used the phrase “all that and a bag of chips” in conversation with my brilliant husband last week and he looked at me like I was from Venus. He’d NEVER heard that before. I told him he was the weird one, not ME, but then I closed my mouth because he pays for my hair color too. 😉

  6. Oh I hope your house sells super-fast! 🙂 because making the bed? is lame – I totally agree!

  7. Tommy can come to our house anytime…we rarely make our beds. Really.

  8. I think you are very brave going through all that house selling gig! Many years ago when we were young (er) and still had 3 kids at home we seemed to be forever selling and buying houses but having been now ‘stuck’ for 20 years I dread the thought – although the time will come – unless we leave it for the kids to cope with after we’re gone! Blessings!

  9. Going through Carpoolqueen withdrawal.

    Must meet for coffee/sushi/chocolate sometimes very soon.
    xoxo

  10. That looker sounds promising! We had inspections this week on our houses–and turns out I have a couple more weeks than I thought before the moving madness begins. So I’m breathing quite naturally! 😉 And my kids are also looking forward to no more “red alerts,” as we call them.

Leave a Reply

