Various and Sundry

The Coffee Fairy (AKA my husband) returned from his work trip yesterday morning.  He took the red-eye from San Francisco  and had originally planned to go straight to work but changed his mind after 5 hours of squeezing his 6’7″ self into a non-reclining coach seat.

He was so pitiful wandering around the house muttering something along the lines of the last time he was so crowded he was in a womb with a view.

Just pitiful.

He slept for a couple of hours and then I woke him up in time to take me to lunch (see how nice I am?) and we went to our favorite little Mediterranean neighborhood joint for a gyro and hummus and talked about his trip.

That evening I had dinner plans of my own (a wrap-up dinner for the conference planning team) so I left a freshly cooked pot of chili on the stove for the family and went to my event where I dined on frilly food that was divine – grilled chicken on a mixed green salad tossed with blueberries and strawberries and topped with glazed pecans, gorgonzola, and a poppy-seed dressing and why are my salads never that creative? I just can’t build a salad that isn’t lettuce, tomato, ranch dressing and croutons but only if we’re feeling fancy.

But I digress.

I came home ready to tell Craig (the man formerly known as Mr. CPQ who has a real name and doesn’t care if you know it) about my dinner and you can imagine my surprise to find a paper towel sitting on the otherwise clean countertop and on said paper towel was a rock that I thought might be a part of a new collection that one of the kids was starting but, no, it was the lovely rock that he had found when he bit into his first spoonful of chili.

Eek.

And then he opened the AT&T bill and we found out that when they replaced the DVR unit in the back bedroom the tech didn’t transfer our parental locking code and Travis had ordered $67 worth of movies on demand while we weren’t looking.

Oh, it was delightful.

I think someone’s already ready to get on a plane again.

Have a nice day.

4 responses to “Various and Sundry

  1. ok, really, a rock????? where o where did that come from????

    and the movies? which ones? what were they rated? when o when did he watch $67 worth of movies and no one knew??? or did he not like what he picked and kept buying more and more? how funny is this!!!! these are the stories that will be remembered for-ever!! ha!

  2. So how did a rock end up in the chilli?

  3. Were the movies in English this time?

  4. Stone soup. Crunchy chili. It’s all good.

Leave a Reply

