Because normal would be boring…

We sold our house this weekend.

I was grabbing my second cup of coffee Saturday morning and putting the kids on notice that we had a showing at 10:00 when our agent called asking if we’d checked our email.  He had forwarded an offer that came in at 4:00 that morning (there’s an agent who is PERKY, people) and I tried not to throw up from stress we took a look at it and it was a decent starting point for negotiations.

We pretty much stayed on the phone through the course of the day while we were out running errands and eating lunch and popping Xanax, and by the middle of the afternoon, it became apparent that the person on the other end was really most interested in a specific settlement date and once we figured that out, it worked to our advantage in getting the price we wanted out of the house.

When the dust cleared around 6:00 that afternoon, we ended up at a place where we got our price and they got their closing date and everyone was happy and relieved if not slightly overwrought by the course of events.

Because over-dramatic theatrics always make life more interesting.

So where do we stand?

1.  We have  to be out of the house by June 30th and into something new.

2.  Our bank requires 30 days to process the loan for our new house.

3.  So we have to find a new house in the next two weeks.

OR

4.  We decide that we’re going to build and we move into an apartment for the next eight months until that process is complete.

  Decisions, decisions.

And did I mention that Craig’s in the middle of opening a new office in California that’s supposed to go live next month?

Oh, this makes me nervous giggle.

It’s all good and it’s all crazy.

In other words, just another Monday.

Have a nice day.


12 responses to “Because normal would be boring…

  1. wow. transitions are so hard… but it is a fun one!

  2. Congratulations! We’re in our new house and didn’t lose anyone in the process. Still have boxes everywhere and I leave the country day after tomorrow. Probably should hang pictures before I leave so my hubby doesn’t do it without my input…
    Hope you find just the right place!

  3. Congratulations on selling the house! You do so well under such circumstances… It will
    be exciting to see how God works through this!

  4. Congratulations to you! So glad you got a good price and really there’s no complaining about having too many decisions 🙂 I know it’s all really overwhelming so I hope you have the energy to enjoy the next few weeks, there can’t be much that’s more exciting than choosing your new home! xxx

  5. Congrats on the big sell!!!!! That’s awesome!

    So… we’re having dinner at your house when I come see you on the 17th, right? 😉

    Really… many blessings on your little adventure. I’m sure it will be wild and crazy, but hopefully when the dust clears, you will be in a happy new home.

    Much love to you, my friend!

  6. Congratulations! It’s stressful and exciting all at once.

  7. Congratulations! Having your home for sale and trying to keep it clean 24/7 is always stressful, so I’m glad that you are out from under that pressure!

    Have fun deciding what you will do next! 🙂

  8. I’m happy you sold your house…and praying you know what to do in the meantime!

  9. Yay! So happy that your house is sold and you can move on to the next step. Ours has been on the market for one week, and I pray for the day we get our offer. Congratulations!

  10. wooo hoooo! YOUR HOUSE SOLD!!

    SWEET!

  11. yay that the house is sold, though! (Read “No more 1 hour notice of a showing”)
    PS…My hubby is named Craig too.

  12. a-hem..
    or option C:
    C.A.L.I.F.O.R.N.I.A!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    (oh, yes… and the non-selfish 10% of me wants me to at least congratulate you on the sale, so Yay, You!)

Leave a Reply

