In which I have enough excitement for one day

When we started looking at options for middle school for the boys, we had a decision to make between a traditional calendar and a year-round calendar.  We opted for the year-round, multi-track calendar for them since a) it’s a schedule that’s served us well and b) it’s all they’ve ever known.   The year-round school was application-only for us, and I applied early because I wanted to be sure to leave time to appeal if for some reason they were denied or if they were assigned to different tracks.

And, yes, it’s happened before that my boys have been assigned to different tracks and I drove to school every ding dang day for well over a year before we could get them on the same schedule.

And that’s why they call me Carpool Queen.

And that’s why I get cranky when anyone even whispers about school reassignment.

I was pleasantly surprised when three weeks later we received confirmation letters that all the boys had been assigned to the same track at the same school and life was sunshine and roses and I happily went about my merry way.

Until yesterday.

When the official end of grade promotion letters came home from school and I opened them to read that Tommy and JJ had been assigned to the year-round school and Travis had been assigned to the traditional calendar school.

My mental state might have been best described as “unhinged”.

Bless her heart, poor Amy had to listen to me rant for about 15 minutes before she calmly said, “Have you called anyone about it yet?”  and then had to listen to my three points and poem for how I was going to solve my problem which may or may not have included letters to the editor and calling the newsroom at Channel 11 to have an airing of the grievances for all of Wake County to hear and then she ever go gently said, “I’m sure it’s just a clerical error” but she said it in that nice way that doesn’t sound condescending and/or patronizing and I put the flamethrower back in its case and instead wrote a polite email to the school administrator and wouldn’t you know, within three hours it was all taken care of and everyone and my blood pressure was back in their rightful place.

My calm demeanor didn’t last that long, though, because we think we found the house that just might work for us and went by it twice yesterday to walk through and get a feel for how it might work for our family and the more I thought about it, the more I thought it might really be The One and though Craig had already seen it once, he and I met there after work and spent about an hour and a half wandering through the space and going over the pros and cons and ultimately decided that we hadn’t seen anything else that fit our needs quite as well as this house did and so we found ourselves submitting an offer at 7:00 last night.

And then I came home and went straight to a box of comfort pizza because change can be unsettling.

And then I stayed awake all night wondering if we made the right decision but my sweet, calm, logical, unflappable husband who sleeps like a baby regardless of circumstance told me that we did.

And that was my Wednesday.

Have a nice day.

14 responses to “In which I have enough excitement for one day

  1. Oh my word! You must be exhausted! You deserve an extra good venti something this morning!! Praying for a good response on your offer!

  2. You made my hear sink at ” middle school for the boys”.

    WHAT????????

    That means The Girl is also a middle schooler…..

    I feel slightly nauseous.

    Let’s go have lunch.

  3. Having the same ‘make you twitch’ kind of days…

    If you still need to go somewhere that sells caffeine and sit and stare (and you would like company)..I can do this. Unfortunately, I cannot do this for two weeks.

    Hopefully, by then, you will own a new house and we can talk about that..between the sipping and staring.

  4. Whew! Glad you survived!
    Keep us posted on the house/contract details!

  5. So glad the schooling worked out…I tend to flip out first and get logical second. Glad I’m not alone : )

    Best of luck with the house!

  6. Which Middle School … the suspense is killing me!

  7. Heart you muchly. As many years as we’ve done it, I still marvel at how we can simultaneously talk each other off of our respective ledges.

  8. I hope this house doesn’t have many chandeliers.

  9. Hmm… they say life wasn’t meant to be easy – sometimes it certainly does seem to be that way but so glad everything has worked out fine in the end. HAGD & Blessings!

  10. Rachel Treichler

    Ok, you wrote this yesterday and now its today and I’m waiting (un)patiently for the update! 🙂

  11. Oh girl – congrats on the house first of all, and secondly, I cant believe that about school timing stuff – I would go batty for sure! Praying everything works out PERFECTLY with EVERYTHING! 🙂 Cause that’s how things usually work out right?

  12. Can’t wait to hear about THE house! Praying for it to go through if it is THE one the Lord has for y’all.

  13. For such a roller-coaster day, it seems to have had a fabulous outcome! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

