There goes the neighborhood

Y’all told me.

And while I knew you were right, it certainly didn’t feel right at the time.

At the time I was wiping back bitter tears at having lost two houses that would have been good candidates for purchase.  They both had a bedroom on the first floor that Travis could use, the hallways and floor plan were decently open enough to get a wheelchair around, and we had figured out a way to build ramps and install lifts in the garage to get him into the house without having to carry him.

And y’all told me, “God’s got something better.”

But I had looked at 30 houses in the last two weeks and there wasn’t anything better.

And then I got an email about a new listing this past weekend and thought about dismissing it because there weren’t any pictures of the interior of the house posted but Craig said we could at least drive by and see what we thought of the neighborhood and if that was okay, maybe it would be worth the time to at least try to get inside.   Since it was only 5 minutes from our current house, we hopped in the car to take a peek and as we slowly rolled by it, I told Craig “I think I saw a ramp in the back.”   Sure enough, just barely peeking through the bushes we could see a wheelchair ramp.

Hmmmm.

We scheduled a showing on Tuesday and when I walked in the door, I started to get a little excited.  The foyer was wide and spacious – perfect for scooting around in a wheelchair and not bumping into walls.

I walked through the foyer and took a peek down the hallway and noticed it was a straight shot into the ground floor bedroom.

I started to walk down the hallway and realized that there was also a master suite off the hallway.

That’s right, not one, but TWO bedrooms downstairs.

And in the master bath?  A roll-in shower.

The living space in the downstairs was open and airy and the floors were all hardwood, perfect for maneuvering a walker or a wheelchair.

The kitchen had an eat-in area plus a little keeping space/den plus a little desk that was perfect for sitting at and blogging.

On my list of wishes for a house? I had been looking for one that had a back set of stairs so that we could install a chair lift for Travis but not have it visible when you walked in the front door.

Wish granted.

I had hoped to have enough space for the boys to have a room of their own and a bonus room/craft space so that I wouldn’t have to clear a project off the kitchen table so that we could eat supper.

Check.

Check.

Check.

And check.

Craig had wanted an office.

I had wanted a pretty dining room.

Item after item we were discovering on our wish list.  And just when I thought I had seen enough signs, I opened a door and saw the proverbial writing on the wall.

Except it was on the garage floor.

A ramp.

Already built.

All ready and waiting for us.

Go ahead and cry.  I already have.

And still, God had one more surprise in store for us.

The house was well-priced to move, below market value for the neighborhood, but because it was still at the absolute tippy-top of our price range (hence staying awake all night wondering how we were going to afford it), we took a deep breath and sent in a very low offer hoping to move the owner even a fraction off her price.

She took our first offer without batting an eyelash.

Y’all – we just bought a house that is beyond what we could ask for or imagine or think we could afford and once the dust clears on our closing date of June 30th, our house payment is not going to be any more than what we’re paying now.

I can’t even begin to formulate the words of gratitude for your prayers on our behalf through this process and for God’s goodness and kindness toward us.  We’ll still need those prayers in the next few weeks as we get through inspections and then pack and move.

I might need to throw in a special request that y’all pray for the relationships with the new neighbors who are going to hate us for dropping their property values.

And one of those neighbors?  Blog Lurker Rachel!

Eek.

Sorry about tanking the comps, Rach.  Will you still speak to me when we pass each other in the cul-de-sac?

Have a nice day.

36 responses to “There goes the neighborhood

  1. YIPPEE YIPPEE YIPPEE!!! I’ve been wondering/praying since seeing you Tuesday night. HOW VERY EXCITING….and I love that “greater than we can ask or imagine” reference. That’s how He rolls. It is gorgeous! And no more money! God is good. I’m so excited for you guys!

  2. Rachel Treichler

    WOW.
    GOD.IS.AWESOME.
    Thank you so much for sharing this. Rejoicing with you today. 🙂

  3. Weeping and praising the Lord on your behalf… So happy for you and your family! Love it! Just gorgeous. Kind of reminds me of Miracle on 34th Street. (It’s not on 34th Street is it?) Except you’re already married and your realtor probably wasn’t Kris Kringle and you found a ramp instead of a cane in the house. Other than that, just like it!

    Smiling for you today!

  4. God is good, all the time. All the time, God is good!
    Love, Love, Love it!
    Love the house too. 🙂

  5. Susan!!!! YEAH!!! It is beautiful! I cried when I saw that ramp. What a sweet blessing! Can’t wait to see the house filled with your things and your people. Love it!

  6. As a long time blog stalker of yours, I have to come out of hiding….and say THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this testimony!!!!!!!!!!!

    Last year, God called my family and I to relocate to a place where the homes are small and expensive. We’ve been renting for a year but really want to own. In looking, homes that fit our family (we have three kids and want one more), there is literally NOTHING in our price range. We’ve made an offer on a house that was a little out of price range but we were gonna figure a way to manage. It was fair but turned down.
    We’ve literally looked at 25+ homes. I am not even that picky, but we do need a space that works for us. We do college ministry, so we have students over a lot!

    I KNOW God has something perfect, but with nothing on the horizon, its been exhausting.

    I so appreciate your story. I feel like God will make it happen in the exact way He did for you….an amazing house for a great price. Thanks for blessing me today! It gives me the faith to continue!!

  7. I’m CRYING. That’s so awesome, Susan. God is good.

  8. A cul-de-sac…you didn’t tell us it was a cul-de-sac.

    WOOHOO!! I am so happy for you and your family and well…the neighbors will love you all too.

  9. God is good. God is really good. Crying tears of happiness for you that God has so visibly shown His goodness to you.

  10. So this was God’s plan! I know how hard it is to wait and see what his plan is for us, I have been there many times. Congratulations!

  11. Praise God, Susan!!!!! I LOVE this story! You all have delighted yourselves in the Lord and He has given you the deisres of your heart!!! (Ps37:4)
    I LOVe reading your stories. I am a late-night “lurker” occasionally. Hope you don’t mind! 😉

  12. Oh, Susan. That is JUST WONDERFUL!!!! The house is GORGEOUS and the best part is that it was hand picked by our great big God who loves in a great big way.

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Yay Scates Family!!!! God is so amazing. Welcome home. Beyond what we could ever imagine are His great plans for us. Holla! Xxxooo

  14. I got tears reading this post. I am so happy for you. God is so, so good!

  15. beyond what we could ask or think, indeed.

  16. Please, in the name of all that is good and pure and holy, tell me that those dining room chairs convey.

  17. Praise God!! His dreams for us our bigger than our own! I made $450 at my garage sale today to donate to a woman whose husband suddenly died. I earned more than I had hoped for !! He is so awesome!! Can’t wait to hear how you are loving your new home!!

  18. So exciting!! That family room looks a lot like mine with the ginormous mirror and the ‘bridge’ upstairs…I can’t wait for you to move in and do something to your mantle so I can copy. I’m working on mine but am not completely happy with it. I do love having the mirror there though.

    So glad God has gone beyond the beyond…have you ever heard Priscilla Shirer speak on that phrase?

  19. Congratulations! It’s a BEAUTIFUL house!

  20. Beautiful house! Congratulations!!!

  21. Oh my freakin’ word!!! You just bought the coolest house ever!! God so provided for you guys and I’m so thrilled for you 🙂

  22. What a perfect house for you! Congratulations!

  23. That.is.the.raddest.house.EVER.

    …and I can not think of anyone I could more want this house for than YOUR FAMILY. Praise God from whom ALL blessings flow!!

  24. ooohh, you made me cry. So happy for you all!

  25. What a beautiful house, perfect for you ! Congrats!

  26. Yep – pass me the tissues! I’m over-the-moon rejoicing with you!! It is a beautiful home and hand-picked by God!! CONGRATULATIONS!!

  27. I’m so excited – my husband who is in charge of family finances, probably a little less excited, but hey, if we stay here ’til we die, it won’t matter a bit!!
    I can’t help but marvel at a God who saved this house all these years just for you. Welcome to our neighborhood, we are glad to have you!

  28. BMEO … balling my eyes out. God always exceeds our expectation but this was one of the most incredible testimonies. I am so happy for your family!

  29. Hooray! 🙂 What amazing news! I love everything about it and am so excited for you! 🙂

  30. Absolutely lovely! So happy for you!!! God is good.

  31. Congratulations on your beautiful, beautiful new home! God is SO good. Can’t wait to read along as you move in and make this home your own! This Good Thing couldn’t have happened to a sweeter, more deserving family. Bless y’all!

  32. Congratulations! It is BEAUTIFUL!!

  33. Thank you for sharing this story with us. My husband and I offered on a house, a short sale, back at the beginning of February. Short sales seem to be what we can afford and yet they take a really really long time. Here it is May 23rd and we still don’t have an answer yet. It’s been frustrating, but God is faithful. Last night we were talking about all this before we went to bed and I told him about your blog. It was kind of a reminder for us that God is going to answer our prayers, we just don’t always know how.

  34. Okay, you’ve had me in tears before, but they were from laughing… But this time they are from joy & rejoicing! How phenomenal is our God?!!! This is so beautiful & perfect for your family! Just absolutely awesome!!! I’m so happy for your family, I can’t begin to tell you how happy!
    Praise God from Whom ALL blessings flow!

  35. Oh, girl. I just had to explain to Lee why I’m crying. So stinkin’ awesome! Praising HIM!

  36. Pingback: inspired : 5.29.11 « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

