Let the countdown begin

The movers will be here one week from today to load up the contents of this house only to unload it the following day, a measly six-minute drive away.

It’s a long run for a short slide.

I should be packing and sorting and purging but, no, I had to open my big mouth and say “Sure, I’ll fill in for a colleague on vacation” only to find out she had the job equivalent of standing in front of a firing squad taking bullets all.day.long.

It’s no wonder she went on an extended vacation – I’m ready after only five days on the job. And can we all pray that she comes back at the end of the week like she said she would? 

My in-laws are coming tomorrow to help me pack, and I am mortified at what they are going to find when they come in the front door.  I will definitely be testing those ties that have bound us for the last fifteen years.

In the meantime, and on a happier, less stressful note, as I was going through some boxes in the attic, I came across a note saved since elementary school from a sweet little girl named Laurie in which she asked “please be my best friend.  Circle yes or no.”  I, of course, had circled “Yes” and it was one of the best decisions I ever made.

Also in the box were dozens of letters from Whimzie, most of which were consoling me after the loss of yet another boyfriend, special letters and cards from my parents (some pleasant, and some not so pleasant – they didn’t have a cake walk with me), and several scrapbooks filled with mementos of a truly rich and full college life.  I’m hoping to blog some of those letters later on this year once I get settled into the new place and life settles down a bit – they brought back some great memories.

Do you save letters and trinkets?  I’d love to hear about what you’ve kept.

Have a nice day.

14 responses to “Let the countdown begin

  1. I still have the Hello Kitty diary (the one with every entry starting, Dear Hello Kitty) from when I was 10 years old in which I lament about this boy named James who would not stop pestering me. That boy is now my husband. I found out when I was 26, the year I married him, that he broke into that diary when he was 11 and read every word.

    I kept the diary and kept the boy. A good choice on both counts.

  2. Thank goodness you’ll have movers! I’ve been wondering about that. We did our 6-minute-drive move ourselves. I thought it would give me time to get organized in the new house faster if things arrived in small trailer-loads. Nope.

    I save EVERYTHING. Way too much stuff. Still can’t believe that Randy entered our marriage with only 1 box of sentimental stuff. He’s the yin to my yang.

  3. I have every birthday card I have received since I was 11 years old. I also keep all notes that people have written to me over the years. I have all the wedding cards we recieved and all the cards we received when each of the boys were born – and yes, I am running out of card storage room.

  4. I’ve been walking down Memory Lane this week as I am heading out to a reunion this weekend and have been sorting pictures and notes and souvenirs to bring along. I worked at a camp in Maryland during highschool and college and the staff from that ‘era’ are having a reunion at the camp this weekend. We reconnected on facebook and one girl organized the whole thing-there are a lot of people coming and I haven’t seen them in 30 years. I am sure I’ll have a lot to say about it next week.

    Good luck with the packing!

  5. We just cleaned out our attic and yes, I saved a few good things – like my Charmin Chatty doll, a Chrissy doll (the one whose hair “grew”) , scrapbooks with mementos from my relationship with my hubby (then boyfriend), grade school yearbooks…all sorts of stuff that my kids had a great time looking through. Ah, memories!

    Enjoy the packing!

  6. ARE YOU OKAY?

    Dang, my timing still stinks.

  7. Somewhere in the attic, tied up in a ribbon, are all the letters i wrote to Doug and that he wrote to me whilst he was in college. Sadly, I’m making most of my scrapbooks digitally, now, so the piles of mementos are mounting.

  8. I have kept many things through the years but none quite as special as my heart memories from my time in Guatemala and the privilege of learning with you in grades one and two. Con much amor — Jackie

  9. I’m trying to get rid of a lot of the stuff I’d been dragging around. Like the balloon pieces I’ve been keeping from fourth grade because Tommy Glover had blown it up and I had a big crush on Tommy Glover.

    I should dig out the Sus Epistles. I may have the before and after to the letters you have. Plus I have at least five birthday cards that I never mailed to you.

    My friend Alison had one of those Christy dolls that Mary mentioned. Did you know that if you keep cutting her hair it will eventually stop “growing”? We learned that lesson the hard way.

  10. Yep, I have boxes of notes and cards, along with journals and even old newspapers of things I thought were important. Like Marie Osmond getting married, Princess Di having a baby, funny comics. My hubby tried to get me to purge some of them on this move, but I just couldn’t do it. (Well, I did throw away those news clippings…)
    I think he was glad I keep everything when he started reading my journal from when I was 11 years old. I hadn’t heard him laugh out loud that much in a long time…

  11. Lots of letters and lots of journals which are now in a box in my attic. One of my favorite bundles is from my best friend from 8th and 9th grade who I corresponded faithfully with until we both got married. Then we moved to the annual Christmas card. Still, there was a lot of life lived and ink spilled on our letters especially during college. : )

  12. I was just thinking about you today. Hope the packing is going good. I loved your post. I had so much fun going through things as I packed them up. In fact, the other day, I found a card from my college roommate giving me words of encouragement after a bad breakup of a boyfriend. Thankfully, he found another girl and I found another guy! My mom keeps threatening me to come get my college stuff out of her attic. I am scared of what I may find. LOL!
    Happy Packing! Do you need more boxes?
    Suz

  13. Rick and I each have our own full-sized box simply labeled “memories.” I’m not quite sure what either of us has in those, but neither of us are ready to part with them. We just take them along with each move, smiling reminiscently at them in passing.

  14. I’ve kept a piece of a napkin that my boyfriend made into a ring. He took the napkin ring, put in on my finger, and ask me to marry him. ( I said yes, btw)

    Praying for your move!!

Leave a Reply

