Pour a cup and sit a spell: Part 1

I’m back on the Interwebs as my friend Heather is wont to say and all God’s children said, “Amen.”

I will just say it – We are a “connected” family and while we did fine for the first five days without TV and Internet, we were definitely getting a little twitchy by the end of the second five days.

Yes, I know there’s therapy for that.

I think we left off where I was packing up the old house and the movers were about to descend, but first we had to have a last birthday party at the house for the boys which we accomplished with a pinata, a store-bought cake (because I’d packed my pans), and two rolls of streamers twisted together and hung from the ceiling with masking tape.

All my photography friends are cringing.  I take horrid photos, I know.  But I’d been packing for over a week and it was a thousand degrees outside and the boys are at the age that they cringe when I pull out the camera so this is what you get.

And they declared it The Best Birthday EVER.

And with that, the festivities ceased and we ate off paper plates and the kindness of friends who brought food (thanks, Suzanne!!!) and a few short days later, the moving truck came.

And blocked the street because they weren’t supposed to pull into the driveway and wasn’t that a nice way to inconvenience my neighbors but really is par for the course when we move as you will later see.

I wasn’t really emotional about leaving the old house. I don’t know that I’ve talked about it much on the blog but it was a hard place for me to be.  We’d moved into it under some difficult personal circumstances and while it was what we needed to do at the time and gave us some financial breathing space while Craig built his business, every time I drove into the garage, it was a reminder of uncertainty and worry and stress.  We did have happy family times there and wonderful neighbors who became even better friends and for that and many beautiful lessons God taught me about myself and having “enough”, I am thankful.

But there were new adventures to be had and new neighbors to harass, and I was ready, ready, ready so I closed the door, breathed a grateful prayer to the One who led us there and protected us and promised to be with us wherever we went, took one last picture and left.

To be continued….

Have a nice day.

 

7 responses to “Pour a cup and sit a spell: Part 1

  1. It is good you could leave that house without much emotion. When we moved out of the house that had been our first house and where our children were born(they were born at Rex, but you know what I mean) I became very emotional. I went back to clean the house after we moved out and just cried all day. The new owners came by to measure for furniture and I made them feel guilty for buying my “memory house”.

    Glad you are back on the Interwebs and getting settled. Love your foyer! Can’t wait for more pics.
    Hope

  2. So when do we get to the part about the police raid, the pot bellied pig, and meeting the Dalai Lama in the jacuzzi?

    Oh wait, I’m spoiling the story.

  3. Oh, I’ve had times in houses like that. Those wonderful places that God provided for a season, but you never really wanted to be there to begin with. In the end, those are some of my most precious memories because I see the hand of God all over them. But I don’t think that even He is disappointed when we finally get to move on. I hope you have many blessed years in your new home. Enjoy!

  4. So glad you’re back..and eagerly anticipating the ‘rest of the story’.

    Hugs!

  5. love that you’re back, and i’m not cringing at your photos. not one bit. the most important (and impressive) thing is that you actually took them and captured those memories. and even though your kids cringe when you pull out the camera, someday they will look back and be glad that you did. take it from a feels-like-forever-but-probably-was-not-so-long-ago cringing kid. 🙂

  6. I’m glad for this new chapter in your life. So looking forward to new memories in the new house that fits so perfectly.

    “But there were new adventures to be had and new neighbors to harass, and I was ready, ready, ready so I closed the door, breathed a grateful prayer to the One who led us there and protected us and promised to be with us wherever we went, took one last picture and left.”

    Love that. Amen and amen.

    I also like this post juxtaposed with Ned’s. Plus I just like to throw the word juxtaposed around.

  7. I like your pictures. Mostly because they’re just like mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

