Tuesday Tidbits

1.  I should be eagerly packing the car to head to Oklahoma to see my parents but  knowing that I’m traveling towards an epic heat wave seems to be hindering my progress.

I really, really, really love my family.

And 112 degrees can’t be so bad if it’s a dry heat, right?

2.  I was pleasantly surprised by a knock on the door Sunday night.  It was a neighbor, two doors down, inviting me to breakfast the next morning at the bagel shop.  I thought it was really nice of her to do that and I accepted and then spent the next few hours slightly anxious about how I was going to carry a conversation with someone I’d just met. You’d think that because I gab daily with strangers on the Internet that I’d be completely at ease making small talk with a neighbor.

You’d be wrong.

Going to parties where I don’t know anyone?  I’m right back in junior high and slightly panicky that I’ll say the wrong thing or, worse yet, not have anything to say.  I think it’s because I’ve been out of the daily workforce for so long that I’ve just forgotten how to navigate social situations with ease.  Craig and I have talked about my discomfort before (he’s in the people business and his job requires him to make friends all day long and he’s EXCELLENT at it) and he’s right when he says that making conversation is a skill and like any skill, it takes practice.

So I practiced with my neighbor (whose name is Cat and she has three cats) and we had a great time.  She was very easy to talk to and while our life experiences have been different, there were similar themes and interests we had that served as springboards for conversation.

As an aside, my friend Momologuer taught me that a great question to ask someone you’ve just met is “What keeps you busy during the day?”  This gives them the opportunity to talk about their job, their hobbies, their kids, or whatever they want and avoids that dreaded awkwardness that comes from saying “Tell me about your job” only to find out they’ve just been laid off.

Not that I’ve ever done that before.

Ahem.

3.  In about an hour I’m taking JJ to the orthodontist to get his bands and wires put in/installed/attached.  I’ve never had braces and don’t know how to relate to this process.  The nurse told me that I might want to give him some Tylenol before the appointment because there might be some “discomfort” and I’m hoping that some of you that have had braces or have kids that wear braces might be able to give me a few tips so I can make this as easy as possible for him as he adjusts.

Because being trapped in a car for the next two days with an ill-tempered someone who might be experiencing “discomfort”? That’s a lot scarier than 112 degrees.

Have a nice day.

10 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. Oh, he’s going to feel like he has a lot of trash in his mouth. That’s what both of my children complained about the most…just feeling like too much stuff was in there. Assure him it will get better. He’ll get used to it. he just has to give it time. Definitely stock up on the Tylenol. He’ll need it. Good luck and have a great trip!

  2. Smoothies. Don’t pass up a drive thru with smoothies!

  3. Tylenol and Ibuprophen have helped my kids. Four have been braced so far! They are sore the next couple of days and usually need soft foods like milkshakes, applesauce and mashed potatoes (but not all together in the same meal;)) And HUGS…lots of hugs. I’ll be praying for a smooth transition!

  4. Holy Cow! I had braces as an adult who worked in Customer Service. Let’s just say the day I got my braces tightened was NOT the day to call me with a complaint! Talk about Jeykl and Hyde. I have no idea how to spell that. Make sure you get them to give you a package of wax because invariably something will start poking somewhere AFTER you leave. If you don’t have wax, sugar free gum also works. The insides of his lips will toughened (sp?) up soon. Hang in there!

  5. Stouffers Macaroni and Cheese. The big pan. My kids lived on this until their teeth stopped hurting. Milkshakes. Yogurt. When he tells you it hurts to chew…he means it. Not a pleasant experience at all, but it gets a LOT better.

  6. Tylenol. Soft foods. SOFT foods and WAX –if your Ortho didn’t give you any, you can pick it up at any drugstore.) He’ll be hungry but won’t want to chew at first. I had braces as an adult. It IS painful. Whatever you do, DON’T minimize his pain (like I did to my two boys back in the day–first thing I did was call them to apologize.) It will get better…..and then it’ll be time for them to be adjusted again ….annnnnnnnd the whole process starts over. UGH. (But in the end it’s TOTALLY worth it!)

  7. Don’t make him eat any kind of sandwich. It hurts to bite down in it, and, until he get the hang of “sucking” stuff out of the wires, he’ll have lots of goopy-looking crud stuck in the wires. Good times.

  8. Anything soft and cold :). Bananas if he likes, yogurt, cream of wheat, mashed potatoes. It helps to eat things you don’t have to chew.
    Blessings~ x

  9. Yay for good advice friends. Amen to everything they said. And I’m telling you on the worst days your whole head, not just your mouth hurts. And a WaterPik would not be a bad investment. Do they still make those? Because stuff gets stuck in the weirdest places.

    Looking forward to the road trip phone calls. Those are always entertaining.

  10. Wow. I’m a day late, but don’t have to feel bad about that because you’ve already gotten a TON of great advice!! I had braces for nine years as a kid/teen. Yes, NINE years. Let me echo my favorite advice above:

    – Always keep wax on hand. Don’t worry if he swallows it. It’s bound to happen and he won’t die when it does.
    – Pain relievers are a MUST. And yes, his whole head will hurt at times, borderline migraine caliber. Be prepared and proactive.
    – Cold, soft stuff is always best, especially on the days of tightenings. Avoid sandwiches or anything tough or chewy. Pasta is perfect.
    – A Waterpik is a must-have investment. Besides, they’re cool and kids love ’em.
    – Remember: all this will pass. It won’t last forever. He will get used to it eventually and then, when he gets them off, it’s going to feel so amazing!

    Have a SUPERIOR time visiting family!!!

Leave a Reply

