Home

I have few words today – my heart is too full of happiness to even try.

I stopped by my brother’s house yesterday on the way home and spent some time letting the boys play with their cousins while I visited with Jonathan and Melanne. Mel spoiled my kids with scratch-made stroganoff and I’m in a heap o’ trouble because Hamburger Helper is now dead to them.

20110722-011947.jpg

Bellies full, we drove the remaining hour and a half to Mom and Dad’s where we were greeted with tons of hugs and kisses and we came inside and I took my usual place – the barstool in my mama’s kitchen- and that’s pretty much where I’ve been since.

20110722-012257.jpg

20110722-012321.jpg

Mom’s planned all my favorites for the weekend – brisket, potato salad (she makes the best in the world), Blue Bell ice cream, pound cake – and as soon as those pictures are made tomorrow morning I’m falling off the wagon and enjoying every bit of it.

My other brothers are coming over tonight and I’m looking forward to spending time with them and regaling our kids with our childhood stories (there are a few that we don’t tell because we don’t want to plant any seeds).

It’s so good to be home.

Have a nice day.

7 responses to “Home

  1. Oh, fried okra – bestill my heart!

    Have a great time with your family.

  2. Enjoy your time “home”! I know how sweet those times are. Love the look of that fried okra! Have some for me too!

  3. Yay! So blessed to read this cause it makes me excited. I’m coming to america to visit my parents in Sept. Everything you named, I’m putting on my “to do” (eat) list!
    Enjoy!! x

  4. Loved this post. I especially enjoyed the picture of the fried okra but not because I like them (I don’t particularly) but because I recognized the dish/plate they were on! Wonderful memories of food served at my grandparents.

  5. Glad you are having a good visit! Going “home” & getting those “specialties” makes you feel like a kid again, huh?!

  6. Fried okra! My favorite! Have a wonderful visit with your family

  7. Fried Okra — I need the recipe. Stat.
    I’m also looking for a decent recipe for pureed parsnips. I had this AMAZING dish while we were in Disney back in February and I so badly want it again, but I can’t find a recipe anywhere! It was absolutely divine. Parsnips, vanilla and green apple emulsi-something. I don’t know. But it was great. I also don’t know why I think you might have something like that, but the fried okra looks scrumptious and so I’m taking a stab at your recipe vault. 😉

Leave a Reply

