In which I travel to Philly

We arrived home late Wednesday afternoon and got everything unpacked and put away which was the last thing I wanted to do but I know myself and if the luggage doesn’t get unpacked within the first twenty minutes of getting back, it’ll sit on my bedroom floor for weeks.  And approximately 10 hours after pulling in the driveway, I was pulling out and headed to the airport to catch a plane to Philadelphia for a business meeting.

That was poor planning on my part.

Never schedule another trip the day after you get back from driving thousands of miles.

It’s been a while since I traveled for business – and when I say “a while” I mean that Bill Clinton was in the Oval Office  – and since the agenda involved talking all day about the program I administer, I was a little nervous.

Craig was more concerned about the fact that I would most likely inappropriately grab the stranger seated next to me if the plane hit an air pocket.  

He’s traveled with me before.

He has the bruises on his leg to prove it.

My flight left and arrived on time (Hooray! I didn’t die!) and I grabbed a cab that was curiously outfitted with a PVC pipe contraption that I couldn’t for the life of me figure out to what it was attached or what purpose it served other than to vex me and headed downtown.

Since I got up at the crack of dawn to catch the flight, I’d only had a half-cup of coffee before I left  and, turns out, a half-cup of coffee was not enough to help me remember what building and room I was supposed to go when I arrived at my destination and that was an interesting twenty minutes trying to figure out where I was to be but I finally found one of those scrolling boards that gives you meeting locations and made it with two minutes to spare which really puts you in a relaxing mode walking into a room.

Fortunately, they had Starbucks ready and waiting for me.

I quickly found out that the business environment hasn’t changed much since 1998 and that most people still use twenty-seven multi-syllabic words when one would do, but, in general, it was a fun day sitting around the table with other adults wondering about Big Important Things such as whether  we were going to get chocolate chip or oatmeal cookies in our box lunch.

And how to solve the problem of the Blue Screen of Death.

We didn’t solve the screen problem but, apparently, everyone had met beforehand and decided that I was going to be the solution to the problem of how we were going to staff all the great ideas that came from the meeting so the good news, I guess, is that I have job security.

I caught the late afternoon flight back home and sat next to a sleeping giant whose legs kept encroaching on my space so I found my happy place by looking out the window and counting the minutes til I could see my people again.

And they were very excited to see me (and I was excited to see that their father had taken them to do their back-to-school supply shopping) and I think I need to leave home a little more often so I can again experience the joy of children’s voices when I walk through the door.

It’s good to be home.

And I think I’m going to stay put for a while.

Have a nice day.

2 responses to “In which I travel to Philly

  1. Glad you had a good trip. The cabs in Chicago had the PVC pipes too. It is a very poor attempt at air conditioning the back seat. The cabs we rode in had plexiglass between the front and back seats that blocked the only air vents in the car. One cab didn’t have the fancy pvc pipe – it had a dryer hose shoved under the seat to send air back to us. It didn’t work – as evidenced by the sweat rolling down our backs.

  2. The PVC pipe is a part of the rat poison distribution system.

Leave a Reply

