Monday Musings

I took last Friday as a fun day and decided to go wander the Farmer’s Market in search of something to can.  Craig was traveling to Kentucky for work all weekend so I planned a pajama day on Saturday  – perfect time to spend all day simmering and stirring.  

Except for the fact that it was a thousand degrees outside and wasn’t that smart to steam up the whole house with boiling hot water all day long? 

Somedays, I’m just not that bright.

I picked up some beautiful peaches (this year’s crop is fantastic), cucumbers, figs, blueberries, and a twenty-five pound box of canning tomatoes  that they were practically giving away for 20 cents/pound.  

I canned fig jam (awful, horrid, blech), bread and butter pickles (good), four pints of salsa (spicy and yummy though not as red as I wanted it to look – probably because I didn’t add Red Dye #20), a couple of pints of tomato sauce,  and a quart of peaches. 

And I would have shown you pictures but technology hates me today and I can’t get them off my phone. 

Sigh.

We went to church Sunday morning and it was good to be back among friends.  Between moving, unpacking, and traveling, our attendance has been spotty this summer and I have missed the fellowship of our Sunday School.  After church I took the boys to the Golden Corral where, miraculously, JJ didn’t heave in the parking lot on the way out, and then we came home and tidied up before Craig got home.

Because I like for him to think I had it all under control when he walks in the door.

So that was my weekend, quiet and domestic.  It was just what I needed to charge the batteries for this week.  It’ll be a busy one at work but I’m hoping to get everything done by Thursday so I can play when Whimzie gets here.  We have a nice little group of blogging friends coming to meet her for lunch on Friday.  There’s still time to RSVP if you want to come. 

I promise I won’t serve fig jam.

Have  a nice day.

 

4 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. Rats, how I would love to meet Whimzie and I promise I am not a murderer of any kind. But I will be out of town with my sister from Phillie 😦 I know you’ll have a great time!

  2. Enjoy your week and especially your get together-how fun!

  3. Last time I checked, canning was done After the harvest was Final 😉 and the temps had moderated. But I am still impressed with your industry! Maybe someone has a recipe that needs fig jam that would show off it’s better side. Have a great week.

  4. I’d love to come Friday! What can I bring? What time?

Leave a Reply

