Monday Musings

I had so much fun with Amy this weekend.  She and the kids arrived Thursday afternoon and we threw everyone in the pool to wear them out and that didn’t seem to work because there’s some sort of hyperactive force field that goes into effect whenever our respective broods are together and there was lots of activity and refereeing that had to happen but somehow amongst the commotion we managed to cobble together important conversations about makeup, recipes, and our complete and utter lack of a fitness program.

The exercise conversation was laughable considering we had it over an open bag of tortilla chips and cheese dip.

On Friday we had a very fun lunch where I had the chance to introduce Amy to my Raleigh friends. I knew that I wanted to keep things simple so that we’d have a chance to sit and visit so I served chicken salad on croissants, fruit, and sliced tomatoes and mozzarella.

And I completely forgot until that morning that Kellie doesn’t do mayonnaise.

So I called her and said, “I forgot you don’t do mayo and I’m serving chicken salad!”

And she said, “I’m putting on my big girl britches.  I can eat it.”

And then I made the mistake of saying that it was the best gas station chicken salad in town  and that she would not regret her decision and I could tell from the very long pause that it might not have been the right thing to say.

Sorry, Kel.

It really was good, I promise.

And not at all loaded with petrochemicals.

(Left to right:  Amy, Kellie, and Heather)

(Left to right:  Sandy, Rachel, and Gretchen – and not pictured because she came after I took pictures and I forgot to take another one – the other Amy)

Amy had to leave on Saturday and while I was very sad to see her go, she left behind a reminder of her visit that makes me smile every time I see it.

Yes, that orange thing would be a Nerf dart stuck in the living room chandelier.

And you don’t even want to know how many kids we almost lost over the edge of the balcony trying to get it down.

Have a nice day.

9 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. I know I am super-weird… and for you, and Whimz (and those wonderful Raleigh Gals) I would have eaten mayo, I really would’ve. But mayo from a gas station? I’d have to have seen a therapist to consume mayo from a gas station. Like, multiple sessions.

    Of course, I REALLY enjoyed eating the fresh mozzarella, tomato, and basil you made. Not only did it taste good, it looked so beautiful. Why didn’t you get a photo of that? And your beautiful fruit salad in the fancy-cut watermelon bowl was beyond delish.

    This is how I know you are a true friend, you see all my wonkiness and love me anyway… that is love.

    xoxox

  2. What a lovely group of ladies! Hated that I had to miss it.
    (For Amy..I look forward to meeting you during your next visit.)

    I ate a ton of deli sandwiches at a NY style deli / gas station when I was pregnant with K1. Probably why the kid won’t / can’t eat meat. Not.one.bite. (since she was 2).

    Hugs.

  3. I’m envisioning the previous owner dangling kids/maids/gardeners over the balcony to get it. That mental image is even funnier.

  4. What a fun time! Love that Kel would eat Mayo but had to draw the line at gas station food. (btw, I’m with her. Gas station food is the only food that ranks below bar-fay food in my book) Love that Amy was able to meet your NC peeps. Love everything about the story except that I wasn’t there.
    cause you KNOW it’s all about me 😉

  5. i love the nerf dart in the chandelier!

  6. That sounds so much like when mine and Angie’s families get together! My poor husbands ears…!

  7. Fun! Yes…must keep the filter “on”, Sus. I remind myself of that, daily. 🙂

  8. Was it Tookie’s chicken salad (or something like that)? I remember getting that once at a gas station…or maybe I dreamed that.

  9. What a wonderful, fun, delicious time to meet your precious friend, Amy! Thanks for all your preparation & for being such a gracious hostess to all of us (including the 5000 children that were there!) I’ll take Tookie’s chicken salad any day over any made at a fancy-shmancy restaurant! And it IS separate from the gas station… the buildings are just hooked onto each other. But I never thought of it as being from a gas station… so I can understand Kellie’s reluctance…

Leave a Reply

