In which I sew

I was a little blue yesterday.  I think it might be that the busyness of the summer is over and I’m back to a little bit of “normal” whatever that means.  I dropped the boys off at school and was back home by 7:30.  I didn’t have any laundry to do, the house was clean and picked up, Craig was at work, the office didn’t need me and I sat down on the couch and just kinda’ looked around.

And no, exercising didn’t cross my mind.

It never does.

After wallowing for a few minutes, I realized that wasn’t fun either so I decided that a project was in order so I went to Jo-Ann’s in search of one.  Never mind that I had an unfinished quilt from January upstairs.

I wanted to try my hand at making a tunic top but I chickened out at the last minute because I’m not super confident in my sewing skills so I decided to make a reusable shopping bag because a) it looked simple and b) it looked like an hour project.

SIX HOURS LATER…..

I had five pattern pieces cut out when it said I would only have three.

I had ditched the pattern because I didn’t understand the directions.

Dinner was looking questionable.

It was relaxing.

In the end, though, I wound up with something that resembled nothing like the picture on the front of the pattern and I could have bought half a dozen reusable bags at the store for what I put into it.

And the boys said, “Nice shirt, Mom.”

Have a nice day.

 

10 responses to “In which I sew

  1. I always love reading your blog. You make me smile!

  2. BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I totally get it.

  3. Hmmmm it looks like an interesting shopping bag (and I can see why it was confused for a shirt – for a little person). Good try!

  4. Thanks for the laugh!

  5. Oh, friend. I.get.it. I am a quilter, not a sewer. And there Is a difference. And by sewer, I don’t mean the place where all the poop goes. Just sayin’ b/c that looks really bad. Wish I were there to muddle through with you. Someday…

  6. I can only dream of such a day. Why does that NEVER happen to me? Maybe one day, huh?

    Here’s to relaxing with fabric. I love you, CPQ!!!!

  7. Rachel Treichler

    Hahahahahaha….i love it! 🙂

  8. I hate instructions that come with patterns. I’ve said many times that I should just attempt to read the Spanish or French versions because it would have to be less confusing than the English.

  9. I hope you had fun… even if the results were not as expected.

Leave a Reply

