Five on Friday

1.  If you see me out and about today, please be forewarned that I am wearing a skirt.

I KNOW.

It’s Laundry Desperation Day.

2.  Wednesday’s sewing fiasco has not defeated me.  I went to Walmart and picked up another pattern and some funky fabric and I’m trying my hand at something even more complicated because I did such a stellar job on a simple bag. 

I’ve made good progress (it fits over my head!) and have only consulted YouTube three times (thank you, Crafts Channel).  The only things left to do are attach the yoke/collar/whatever you call it (and we wonder why I’m not better at this) and then attach the sleeves.  These two tasks are proving to be a bit tricky so they’re going to have to wait until I sweet-talk a friend into coming over and doing it for me  figure out what to do.

3.  I met a friend for breakfast at The Upper Crust  (their cinnamon rolls are the best in town) and another friend for coffee at Jubala Village Coffee yesterday and I was a little zippy after having consumed several quarts of coffee in the span of four hours.

The conversations were so good for my heart.

I don’t know why I’m always surprised by the different ways that God shows me He loves me.  This was a long week without Craig (he’s traveled five out of the last six weeks) and I was needing time with other adults and it just so happened that three friends called to ask me to get together with them this week.

Kept me from going off the ledge, they did.

4.  My friend Momologuer gifted me with a subscription to Birchbox this year.  Every month I get a package with samples of different creams, lotions, potions, and perfumes to try and it’s always a happy day when I go to the mailbox and find fun girly stuff to try.  This month I got a sample perfume that just might become my signature scent.  It’s called Orange Sanguine and it’s citrusy but not too crisp with some warm notes in it.

Of course, I tweeted Momologuer about it because she’s searching for HER signature scent ever since they discontinued her favorite perfume and NotNed, who was eavesdropping on our convo, was kind enough to point out that my “smelly alcohol” was a whopping $6,400 a gallon.

And I said, “Nah, nah, nah, I can’t hear you.”

5.  Have a nice day.

5 responses to “Five on Friday

  1. I ❤ coffee time with you! Tina B

  2. Well, duh, you don’t need a whole gallon! 😉

  3. Remember to sit like a lady (since you have a skirt on). Just thought I’d be helpful. THanks for the blog fodder, too. I copied you. Can’t wait to see how the blouse turns out! Go girl!!! And I need to look into Birchbox.

  4. Rachel Treichler

    Funny how He’s trying to keep you from going off the ledge while I feel like He wants me to jump off it. 🙂 Thanks for your words of encouragement! YAY for us both for making it to Friday!!!!!!! Have a great weekend!

  5. MMmmmm… that coffee looks good enough to have too. How do they get such perfect shapes in the ‘fluff’? Blessings!

Leave a Reply

