In which the day gets away from me

When I woke up yesterday, I had great plans to tackle the laundry and do some stuff at home because I had only one appointment on the calendar and that was to take the kids to the dentist for their six-month cleaning.

Not factored into the schedule were the hours of talking everyone off the ledge once they found out they had to go.  

Except for Travis who asked if he could stay there all day AND spend the night.

That boy loves him some dental chair time.

I was doing a little paid work before getting ready to leave to collect the boys from school and head over to our appointment when the phone rang and it was JJ informing me that his teacher told him he was not allowed in school because of his coughing. Bless his heart, he’s been hacking up a lung since last Thursday but since he hasn’t had any fever or other symptoms I’ve been sending him to school with a gut full of Robitussin and handfuls of cough drops.  Since I had taken him to the doctor Monday and we’d already done five rounds of nebulizer treatments to no avail, I decided that we needed to go back and see what else could be done.

I told J to hang out at the nurse’s office until I came to pick everyone up at 11, and by the time our dentist appointment was over (one cavity for Tommy – he was distraught) and we had spent thirty minutes at checkout where I had the opportunity to practice a lot of patience with Ms. My First Day on The New Computer System, it was too close to the end of the school day to make it worth driving over there twice so the kids ditched the last hour of school and Tommy and Travis got dropped off at home and JJ took a trip to the pediatrician’s office where I had scheduled an appointment with our favorite nurse practitioner.

His oxygen levels were low so she made an appointment for us at the hospital to get chest x-rays so we drove over there and hung out for a while and then we went to the pharmacy where I picked up four different medications to get him started on, three of which are pretty heavy duty.

I’m loving the one that knocked him out at bedtime and kept him asleep for nine hours straight.

I may have to get some of that for myself.

By the time we finally got back home (WHERE DID THE DAY GO?) it was time to start supper and get the kids fed and hand them off to Craig so I could make girl’s night with friends.  We had a lovely time sitting outside at Simply Crepes (and I exercised great restraint because everything there was NOT on my eating plan so I had a decaf coffee and smiled like it was okay) until I remembered that I hadn’t done laundry which, theoretically, was the primary domestic duty of the day and it wasn’t something that I could put off because it was Picture Day on Thursday and no one had clean clothes to wear.

So I went home and found out that Craig saved the day by doing laundry while I was gone.

And there was much rejoicing.

And beating about the head when he wondered why I was so tired when there was only one appointment on the calendar.

Have a nice day.

5 responses to “In which the day gets away from me

  1. You seemed so calm and put together last night, I would have never guessed you had made a trip to the hospital earlier in the day! I believe you deserved a glass of wine rather than a coffee! Wow.

  2. Some people are so lazy….

    Hope J is on the mend very soon.

  3. Craig knows now to do laundry?

  4. You just took this all so well because it wasn’t YOU that had to go to the dentist. This post would have looked completely different if it were you getting some dentist chair time.

    Hope JJ is feeling better.

  5. “That boy loves him some dental chair time.”
    hahahahahahaha!

    Hope JJ feels better!

Leave a Reply

