Of course it’s about Chick-fil-A

Every once in a while I sit back at my desk and stare at a blank computer screen and wonder what sort of random words I can type that will hopefully make someone smile.

Or in the case of my brothers, shake their head.

Today, though, I’m honored to talk about something really important and life-changing and that makes me all kinds of happy and redeems every single day of light, fluffy and inconsequential drivel that I’ve written.

Most of you know that I was adopted as an infant.  If I may ever so humbly say, it was the best decision my parents ever made. I was given the opportunity to grow up in a stable, loving home with a mom and dad who fed, clothed, and loved me, and brothers who bugged the ever-lovin’ life out of me and who also had my back.  I learned about Jesus and was nurtured in a rich, Christian environment that sought to honor Him.  I was brought into a family that gave me phenomenal life experiences that I wouldn’t have otherwise had.

It’s safe to say adoption changed my life and today I get to help my sweet friends Dave and Laura as they make that life-altering decision to bring a baby into their lives through adoption.

Dave and Laura are in my Sunday School class at church.  They have a healthy marriage, a strong faith, and three beautiful children that keep them on their toes.  They love to laugh, live to serve, and are just a delight to be around.  You will never meet a more humble, steadfast, gentle-spirited couple in your life.

And as an aside, you will never taste better baked goods, either.

Laura IS Betty Crocker.

Whenever we schedule class socials, we do it around her calendar because it’s guaranteed she’s going to bring the best food of the evening. 

But I digress.

Dave and Laura have felt for some time now that their family was not complete and through a series of events have felt the call to adopt as a way of expanding their family.  As they explored the kind of adoption the Lord wanted for them, a lot of doors kept opening and closing, and the picture became very clear that God wanted them to journey to Ethiopia.  But this journey isn’t just about travel to a distant land to redeem an orphan child from a life of famine, disease, and premature death.  This journey is also a faith journey – to see how He would provide and how He would enable and how He would equip those He had called.

And part of that faith journey would also be to show them how others would step in to encourage them along the way and today I’m thrilled to be a part of that encouragement.

You know something about adoption?  It ain’t cheap.

Adopting from Ethiopia?

Ain’t cheaper.

But guess what?  We can help Dave and Laura financially get closer to bringing their daughter home in the easiest way possible.  It involves, wait for it, eating dinner this Thursday night at CHICK-FIL-A.

Seriously.

Twist my arm.

The only thing you need to do is bring the flyer with you (paste the pic into a word document and print) and either go through the drive-through or walk in the door at CFA Falls Village (6701 Falls of Neuse Road) between the hours of 5-8 pm and order dinner.

That’s it.

A sandwich and fries in the name of love for a friend.

If you do have  minute to come inside, Laura will have all sorts of other fun stuff going on that you won’t want to miss.

I’ve got my eye on the silent auction for the beach condo vacation.

If you’re local or within driving distance, please come love on Dave and Laura this Thursday night (BRING YOUR FLYER) and encourage them on their journey.

I thank you.

They thank you.

But more importantly, a little girl in Ethiopia thanks you.

Have a nice day.

13 responses to “Of course it’s about Chick-fil-A

  1. I’ll be praying from 2-5 my time. xxxooo

  2. I wish this would flyer would work at my chick-fil-a!

  3. Great post! Adoption touches so many lives, and this is such a great way to help!

  4. Dear Susan, this is the best of the best. May it not only raising money, it declares your deepest values! May your tribe increase! Love, Hope, Peace, & JOY!

  5. I wish wish wish I could come. Sending love and prayer from Turkey! (We need a chil-fil-a!)

  6. I’ll be sure to patronize Chik-Fil-A here in Virginia in support of them as a company that supports families this way.

  7. So happy for your friend and I hope everyone in your area gets a hankerin’ for some really good sandwiches and fries (and maybe a yummy milkshake or two)

  8. Susie, That is such a beautiful tribute to your parents, and you thoughtfulness for this little girl is so touching. You are indeed blessed to have been part of the Greenwood clan, thus the Guat Bapt mission family, but we are blessed that you were part of our lives.

  9. Oh how wonderful for this lovely couple and a little girl waiting to join their family. I would come and buy and eat if I could. I would, I would. But alas, it’s a little far for me. Still I’m stopping right now to say a prayer for this adoption, for money to be raised and for God to work His mighty deeds. Blessings!

  10. Please order (and have someone eat for me) a side salad with bleu cheese dressing (and since I don’t have to count the calories, please add the sunflower seeds and croutons), a small bowl of chicken noodle soup and a Dream Cone. If my vicarious eater wants to get a small order of waffle fries to dip in the cone, I’d be cool with that. Or if they want to dump the ice cream on one of those fudgie brownies, I won’t complain. I’ll pay you back when we get to Arkansas (WHEE!!!)

    I big, pink, fluffy heart love this.

    And I love you, too.

    • I will buy Whimzie’s order. First person to reply to this comment can be her vicarious eater. Substitutions allowed if you don’t like bleu/blue cheese dressing.

  11. What a super idea – I do hope many many people are able to join in and provide lots of support for your friends! My prayer for you all is just that! Blessings!

  12. If I lived anywhere even remotely close to y’all, I’d be all over it! How awe inspiring are people who open their hearts & homes for a child. I’ve been all aglow for a friend here who just unexpectedly became the adopted mom of a brand new baby girl who will probably have some special needs for awhile. Adopting parents are just amazing!

Leave a Reply

