It’s Friday, but there’s no Five. Just One. Adjust.

Craig has been in Charlotte for work which means a) I haven’t done much cooking and b) the kids have run through my remaining supplies of Ramen noodles, Frosted Flakes, and frozen pizza so last night we decided we’d eat a real meal and so we walked down the street to eat at That Mexican Restaurant That Keeps Changing Its Name But Not Its Menu.

Honestly, they’ve changed the name so many times that we don’t know what it’s called.  It’s always The Three something or other…blind mice, cowboys, cacti, amigos…. I wish they’d just stick with something.  It’s very disconcerting to those of us who don’t like change.

Travis had the chicken enchiladas (and I about fell flat out of my chair because he’s usually the only person in an ethnic restaurant eating a cheeseburger and fries), Tommy ordered the carnitas burrito, and JJ ordered his tacos a la When Harry Met Sally with no lettuce, just a little bit of cheese, crunchy shells instead of flour tortillas, with the salsa on the side.

I had the carne asada with a side of Xanax.

We don’t usually get dessert when we eat out and especially  now that the boys are off the kid’s menu (ACK! SEND MONEY!) but since school starts back next week and I needed to assuage the guilt of minimally feeding them for the last three days, we ordered a dessert sampler of fried ice cream and chocolate tres leches cake and three spoons.

And there was much rejoicing.

Except for me because I’m still not eating sugar.

But I drank my ice water and bravely smiled all the while wondering if sprinkling a packet of Splenda on a napkin and stuffing it in my mouth would in any way approximate the pile of whipped cream I had before me.

Alas, it did not.

After dinner we walked to the grocery store to buy some food for the weekend since I’m sure my husband would appreciate something other than a half-dead head of romaine and two brown bananas and while we were in the produce aisle picking up more fruit destined to die in the bowl on the counter, JJ asked if we could buy fresh spinach.

And I asked him if he was adopted obliged.

So now I have to figure out what to do with a pound of spinach leaves and do not say “salad” because I can’t eat fresh spinach without getting that fingernails-on-a chalkboard sensation because there’s something about it in its raw state that sets my teeth on edge. (In fact, just typing “raw spinach” makes me grimace.)

But I might have a day or two to figure out how to prepare it because in addition to the green stuff, we also bought Cocoa Krispies and Frosted Flakes so we’re nutritionally set for a while.

Yin, meet Yang.

And then we came home in a chatty, relaxed, carb-induced  haze of happiness and I felt lucky to have such sweet, wonderful, fun, funny boys with whom to pass an evening.

Life is good.

Have a nice day.

9 responses to “It’s Friday, but there’s no Five. Just One. Adjust.

  1. My jaw hit the floor the other day when my 15 year old son asked me to buy spinach at the store so he could have spinach salads. I’m seriously wondering if he’s been replaced Stepford Wives style. As for your spinach dilemma, how about lasagna or calzones? Those are the only 2 ways you’ll find this chica eating cooked spinach.

  2. Sounds like a sweet evening…even without the sugar!

  3. You’ve made me smile! So glad to know that I’m not alone in my habit of not cooking when husband is out of town.

  4. I LOVE fresh spinach, and so does my daughter; however, she lives in a different city. Alas, my son and grandson, who live with me, hate it. Regardless, I buy it and saute it in olive oil, a little butter and garlic, then sprinkle sea salt on it after it’s wilted. Delish!

  5. GIRL, you know i feel your pain on the no sugar thing! and um, good goin’ on the splenda napkin creation — let me know if it works. b/c desperate times certainly call for desperate measures. (and no sugar gets pretty desperate!!) 😉

  6. You walked to the restaurant and the store???? 😉

  7. You are cracking me up these days! I love your writing style and wittiness. Glad you enjoyed an evening out with your boys. I have no suggestions for the spinach other than Google, though Rachael.Ray does have plenty of spinach recipes.

  8. Lasagna is about the only way I eat cooked spinach, ricotta covers the taste well! (but I do like it raw in a salad)

  9. Love it the way Jeannie said! I also love it as a salad with craisins, nuts, apples or pears, celery, strawberries, poppyseed drsg. Just let your imagination run wild! And even if you don’t like it in a salad, your boys might… Just sayin’….

Leave a Reply

